Primary Engineering Indexes and Databases
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Publication Dates Covered: 1983 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes more than 400 core English-language scientific and technical publications pertaining to physical science and engineering. Provides citations and abstracts.
Compendex (discontinued after 06/30/2018)
Publication Dates Covered: 1969 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The electronic version of Engineering Index, Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today, containing over eight million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports dating back to 1969.
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xplore
Publication Dates Covered: varies, generally 1988 - present Unlimited simultaneous users: Paid for by K-State Libraries
IEEE Xplore provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published through the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) societies. This resource contains full-text documents from IEEE and IEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, e-books, conference proceedings, and technical standards.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains over 2000 digital versions of books in scientific and engineering fields. Browse by subject or title, or search across part or all of the collection by keyword.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Search It enables simultaneous searching of information about K-State Libraries' physical and online collections and about articles and other sources from hundreds of databases, journal publishers, and organizations.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
SpringerLink is a full-text database of journals, books, protocols, and eReferences published by Springer. K-State subscribes to the Computing and Biomedical and Life Sciences portions of the database. In addition to the newest information in these two sections, K-State has access to the historical archives of all the sections of the database. A wide range of subjects, ranging from sciences to the humanities, are covered.
Web of Science Core Collection
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
Interlibrary Loan allows you to get books or media that K-State does not have. Items from Interlibrary Loan come from other libraries and can take:
- 2-5 days for electronically received copies (PDFs of articles, chapters, sections from books 50 pages and under)
- 3-10 days for books, videos, and anything else we get through the mail
Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Publication Dates Covered: 1861 - present; full text varies by school Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes full text for many dissertations written after 1996, including some master’s theses. Copies of dissertations not available in full text in this database may be requested via interlibrary loan
and/or purchased as microfilm or as unbound copies from UMI
. You can limit the search to K-State dissertations only
Dissertations – K-State Research Exchange (K-REx)
Publication Dates Covered: 2004 - present Free Resource
Full text of theses, dissertations, and reports submitted by K-State graduate students. Papers are typically available by the end of the semester in which the student graduated. Full coverage begins in Fall 2006 for doctoral dissertations and Fall 2007 for masters papers. Limited availability before 2006.