My Life in Art
Call Number: PN2728.S78 A32
Stanislavsky recalls his theatrical career, from his early experiences in Rubinstein's Russian Musical Society to his final triumphs with Chekhov at the Moscow Art Theatre. This account of his own famous productions is interspersed with anecdotes.
Call Number: PN2062 .M47 2003
Publication Date: 2003-11-04
This compact, well-illustrated and clearly written book offers an essential guide to the complex and contradictory nature of this master of theatre.
Sanford Meisner on Acting
Call Number: PN2061 .M38 1987
Publication Date: 1987-07-12
Sanford Meisner was one of the best known and beloved teachers of acting in the country. This book follows one of his acting classes for fifteen months, beginning with the most rudimentary exercises and ending with affecting and polished scenes from contemporary American plays.
The Sanford Meisner Approach Volume II
Call Number: PN2061 .S55 2000
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
This book is the second of four books in the Sanford Meisner series. Silverberg demystifies the emotional demands of acting and leads the actor through a process aimed at tapping into and deepening his own emotional instrument. Not only will actors gain insight into the whole realm of the emotions, they will see very clearly the traps most actors fall into when it comes to "being emotional" on stage.
The Actor's Art and Craft
Call Number: PN2061 .E87 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-08
William Esper explains and extends Sanford Meisner's legendary technique, offering a clear, concrete, step-by-step approach to becoming a truly creative actor. .
World Shakespeare Bibliography
Publication Dates Covered: 1960 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The World Shakespeare Bibliography is one of the most comprehensive resources pertaining to Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical publications. Covering materials published between 1960 to the present, it contains more than 135,902 annotated entries, with international scholarship extending to more than 120 languages.
Acting Shakespeare's Language
Call Number: PR3091 .H56 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
In this inspirational new manual, Andy Hinds shares what he has learnt over thirty years of teaching the speaking and acting of Shakespeare's texts. In simple steps he brings the reader to a full understanding of how Shakespeare's language 'works', lucidly outlines a number of practical guidelines, and provides simple, test-proven exercises to put each guideline into practice.
Literary Databases - Playwriting and Criticism
MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography (ProQuest Expires 2019)
Publication Dates Covered: 1926 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is the largest and most comprehensive database for literary criticism in all languages. Also covers folklore, linguistics, and film studies. Includes journal and book articles, books, and dissertations. Does not index book reviews in literary journals.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
Publication Dates Covered: 1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature includes scholarly articles, books, and reviews pertaining to the English Language. First published in 1920 and maintained to the present date, it covers subject topics of drama, poetry, fiction, biography, literary theory, film, onomastics, lexicography, and dialectology. This product ideally complements the MLA Bibliography.
Literary Sources (formerly Literature Resource Center)
Simultaneous users: 2 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Directing Theory, Technique, and Criticism
Call Number: PN2053 .W25 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
With Stage Directing: A Director's Itinerary , the student of theatrical directing now has a step-by-step guide to directing a production, from choosing a play to opening night. Unlike other directing textbooks, this practical guidebook provides instruction on how to organize the work of the director through the practical challenges of the directorial process (e.g., organizing a budget spreadsheet, writing casting notices, setting up an audition space, etc.).
Call Number: PN2053 .H6 2005
Publication Date: 2004-10-20
Play Directing, Sixth Edition describes the various roles a director plays, from selection and analysis of the play to working with actors and designers to bring it to life.
Theatre In Video: Volume I Paid for by K-State Libraries detailed description
Search more than 250 of the world’s most important plays and more than 100 video documentaries. Bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples for use in papers and course reserves.
BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) Shakespeare Plays
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Streaming video collection of 37 of William Shakespeare’s best known works. Plays can be watched either in their entirety or by act. Public Performance Rights are included for each play.