Where to Search for Articles
Recommended databases for this class:
To find information about the disability you are studying and interventions for it, you may use databases in psychology, education, health, etc.
For an overview of the issue you are studying, try:
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Medicine, health, and alternative medicine topics are covered. Provides access to medical journal and magazine articles, a medical encyclopedia, and dictionary.
Health Reference Center Academic
Provides references, abstracts, and full text from health publications. Includes a medical dictionary; medical directories and reference books; consumer-oriented and professional health periodicals; and pamphlets issued by health organizations.
Education Databases will help you find information about strategies for working with children in the classroom.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC is our main education database and a good source for educational topics. Be sure to use the thesaurus to find the correct search terms.
Education Full Text
Another important education database. While there is some overlap with ERIC, each has resources the other does not. Be aware that Education Full Text's thesaurus is different from ERIC's.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Contains resources from disciplines related to child care and early education, including research reports, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, instruments and measures, citations for scholarly journal articles and books, government documents, and more.
Medicine and health databases and databases focused on psychology can help you find information about diagnosis and clinical interventions.
Our main psychology database. Contains citations and abstracts of the world’s literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related subjects. Also includes books and book chapters.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
This is a good database to find information about treatment and intervention.