Visit the Hale Library recovery website for fire-related updates.

Hale Library FAQ

Operations, services, and information about the Libraries during fire recovery.

Introduction

Although the Morse Department of Special Collections & University Archives received no water damage, many collections did receive some smoke damage and they are being treated. Like all other service points within Hale Library, Special Collections & University Archives faculty and staff will attempt to provide limited services throughout the Summer and Fall semesters.

Reference

Our department's general reference request email service will remain active [libsc@ksu.edu]. Please note that because access to the print materials and archival collections is often fully necessary to answer many questions, our response may be impossible until access to the collections is restored to the department’s faculty and staff. Please do not be discouraged. We will assist you as soon as possible and all queries will be answered in the order in which they were received.

Instruction

Because access to physical materials is restricted until further notice, all instruction requests for the Fall semester that require use of our department's physical materials are impossible to fulfill and any previously scheduled classes will be canceled. We will do our best to help instructors find alternative resources [see Digital Resources below]. Please be thinking immediately about changing any existing requests for instruction assistance. The St. John's Bible lending and docent program is also canceled for the Summer and Fall semesters. We will not be able to use the department reading room or other classrooms in the building; please make arrangements to use other campus classrooms for special collections/archival research introductory classes which we will continue to offer.

Digital Resources

K-State Libraries’ digital collections are a gateway to a variety of resources ranging from books and newspapers to photographs and historical documents. They are organized into collections that span a range of subjects and include materials such as books, newspapers, manuscripts, photographic images, slides, and maps. Many of these materials are suitable substitutes for physical materials that are inaccessible and we can provide assistance to your classes for instruction using them. Please visit the Digital Gateway for more information about these holdings and please contact a department faculty member for assistance with searching or planning to use these materials for instruction: https://www.lib.k-state.edu/digital-collections.

Lists of available materials are online.

Research Consultations

Our faculty will continue to offer research consultations with instructors and students. If you have already scheduled consultations, please contact the department faculty member with whom the consultation was requested. Our department faculty have been relocated to other offices on campus and most are without telephones. It is best to contact individuals via email: Roger Adams [rcadams@ksu.edu], David Allen [dballen@ksu.edu], Cliff Hight [chight@ksu.edu], Ryan Leimkuehler [rleimkue@ksu.edu], Jane Schillie [schillie@ksu.edu]. New requests for research consultations can be made directly with the subject area specialist or by using this form: https://www.lib.k-state.edu/form/research-assistance.

University Records Management

For questions about university records transfers, please continue to contact Ryan Leimkuehler [rleimkue@ksu.edu] who will assist with storage needs, electronic records transfer, or questions about retention of materials on the records retention schedule. Ryan will continue to offer training on shared drive clean up and records management topics and work one on one with staff to provide individualized training and/or advice.

Exhibits

The exhibit schedule is expected to be changed for the remainder of 2018.