This is the "Home" page of the "Catalog" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Catalog  

Last Updated: Apr 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.k-state.edu/catalog Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Us

You may contact us multiple ways from Ask a Librarian. Or, click in the box below to chat online with a librarian. We're happy to help you.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Catalog

Use the drop down box to search by
keyword, title, journal title or author

 

Search It

Use this box to type keywords in Search It

 

Databases

This button will open library databases
 

Welcome!

Single Book Banner

Welcome to the Catalog Library Guide!

 

K-State Libraries Catalog

The Catalog shows items in collections owned by Kansas State University Libraries (Manhattan and Salina campuses) or available to us by purchased license or linked access.

 

When do I use the Catalog and when do I use Search It?

Use the Catalog to search for books, journals, videos, music, maps, and other resources in our collections or available online. Also, look in the Catalog for items placed on Course Reserve by faculty.

Use Search It, or one of our databases (see below), to find chapters within books, articles from journals, and many other types of resources in our collections, linked online, or in other collections.

 

When is a database search preferable to either Catalog or Search It

Library databases, unlike the Catalog, are external to our collections, specialized, and are either freely accessible ("open source") or licensed for educational use. They feature citations with or without full texts to journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, and some offer ebooks, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations. 

If you are focused on extensive research in one subject, select a subject specific database. If you are exploring across several subjects, try a general database such as ProQuest Research Library.

See also:
Databases - links to our databases
Have questions? Ask a Librarian
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip