This is the "Getting Started" page of the "GEOG 300 - Geography of Tourism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GEOG 300 - Geography of Tourism   Tags: geog, geography, k-state manhattan, tourism  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.k-state.edu/geog300 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Geographies of Tourism Guide! Here you will find advice about conducting your research. Use the tabs at the top to find the information you need.

Your instructors are Lis Pankl and Kevin Blake. Please contact Lis (epankl@k-state.edu) with any questions or concerns you have about the course. The embedded librarian for this course is Jason Coleman. Please contact him (coleman@k-state.edu) for any questions regarding finding sources for your research assignments.

 

Insight Papers

INSIGHT PAPERS (75 points each), due Friday, March 7 and Friday, April 4

You will write two “insight papers” that feature BOTH your independent research on a scholarly article about tourism AND your thoughtful reflections on the main ideas in the textbook. You are required to bring two different sources together in order to articulate an intelligent response to an issue within critical tourism geographies. Although there are separate point totals for the various aspects of this assignment you will not receive credit unless your papers contain all the required components. Please see grading rubric for further clarification.

Insight Paper 1: For this paper, you will find and cite (using MLA, APA, or Chicago style) a scholarly article over the broad topic of race and tourism OR ethnicity and tourism OR post-colonialism and tourism. You will connect that article to some theme or issue that is addressed in your textbook. You will then produce a 750 word mini-essay that provides a reflection of the material you’ve read as well as a reaction (e.g. your opinion) to the material. In addition to the article citation, you will use a direct quote from the textbook. You are encouraged to provide personal examples in this essay. (due Friday, March 7)

Insight Paper 2: For this paper, you will find and cite (using MLA, APA, or Chicago style) a scholarly article over the broad topic of gender and tourism OR sexuality and tourism. You will connect that article to some theme or issue that is addressed in your textbook. You will then produce a 750 word mini-essay that provides a reflection of the material you’ve read as well as a reaction (e.g. your opinion) to the material. In addition to the article citation, you will use a direct quote from the textbook. You are encouraged to use personal examples in this essay. (due Friday, April 4)

Insight Paper Rubric

750 words…...30 points

Scholarly Article citation and in text reference over the assigned topic…15 points

Direct reference/quote from textbook…20 points

Quality of analysis and synthesis...10 points

 

 

Tourism Bibliography

TOURISM BIBLIOGRAPHY (100 points), due Friday, May 2

You will create a tourism bibliography for this course. You will develop a research question that is related to critical tourism and provide a ten-citation bibliography formatted using your choice of citation style (Chicago, MLA, APA). This research project is generated from your research question and supporting ideas assignment. You are allowed to use a variety of credible sources for the bibliography; however, you should limit web sites to 2-3 of the entries.

Your research question must be approved by us. Please remember to pick something specific and meaty. For example, instead of merely asking ‘What locations offer yoga retreats?’ you might pick something like ‘How do yoga retreat organizers market to women?’ Your topic should have a point of view and must be relevant to what we are reading in class.

The tourism bibliography is due on Friday, May 2. Please submit the assignment as a Word document to the course drop box.

You will use the information in this bibliography in the final exam for the course. Consequently, you not only need to find and organize this information, but read it as well.

A rubric for the tourism bibliography is available in your syllabus.There is also an example tourism bibliography on KSOL for your reference.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jason Coleman
Contact Info
Undergraduate and Community Services Librarian
Hale Library, Room 209
785-532-7427
coleman@k-state.edu
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Lis Pankl
Contact Info
Faculty and Graduate Services
126 Hale Library
epankl@k-state.edu
785-532-5041
Send Email
Subjects:
Humanities
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip