This is the "Home" page of the "Instruction Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Instruction Services   Tags: faculty teaching, graduate teaching, library instruction  

Resources and tips for instructors wanting to incorporate library research and critical thinking activities into their classes.
Last Updated: Nov 6, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.k-state.edu/instructionservices Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome! (Single book)

Single Book Banner

Welcome to the Libraries' Instruction Services Guide!


Welcome to the Libraries' Instruction Services Guide!  This guide is designed to help instructors teach students how to use K-State Libraries' and other information resources.  If this guide does not have the information and/or guidance you are looking for, do not hesitate to 
Ask A Librarian  for help at any time during the Libraries' service hours.

 

More Resources for Faculty and Staff

 

More Resources for Graduate Students

 

Cool Tools

Things to make your life a little easier:

Assignment Planner
Get a jump start on your research projects with the Assignment Planner. Just enter your due date and the Planner will create a timeline of your research process, from refining your topic to using K-State Libraries' resources to writing your final draft. You can set up e-mail reminders, too!


Building Codes
Don't be late to class again after confusing "EH" with "ES" or "C" with "CL." Just type the building code in the search box in the upper-right corner of the K-State Libraries' homepage and…voilà! The search will reveal the building name and link to a convenient campus map.


Citation Builder
Need help citing something in MLA or APA? Use Citation Builder! Plug in the pertinent data (author, title, year, etc.) from your source (book, book chapter, interview, journal article, magazine, newspaper or web), click Submit and the Citation Builder tool will generate your citation in APA and MLA style. Remember, no tool is perfect, so be sure to check your citations with a style guide.


Citation Linker
If you already have the citation for an article, but you don't know how to find it, use the Citation Linker. Plug in as much of the information as you have, and the Citation Linker will search through our journals and databases to find the full text. If we don't have it online, you'll be able to check our catalog or place a request to get a copy from another library through Interlibrary Loan.


Get It
Get It transports you from article citations to full text faster than you can say, "Beam me up, Scotty." Start your research at a database that's Powered by Get it.
Find something you want? Click the Get It button and let Get It guide you to full text, the Libraries' catalog, interlibrary loan, or other useful services. Already have a citation? No problem. Citation Linker puts your citation on the fast track to Get It's guidance and services.


K-REx
The K-State Research Exchange (K-REx) is a service to preserve and provide permanent access to scholarly materials created by K-State faculty and students. Materials available in K-REx include journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, white papers, electronic thesis/dissertation/reports (ETDR) and other digital resources.


LibX
LibX is an addition to your browser that provides direct access to K-State Libraries' resources. There are many advantages, like letting you search directly for books and articles from the tool bar or directly from your web page. If you’re searching in Amazon or Google, find out if K-State has that book rather than buying it or paying for access!


LinkIt
Use LinkIt when you need to create links to articles found in K-State Libraries' article databases or electronic journals that will work off-campus. It will modify links so that K-State students, faculty, and staff can open articles from off-campus.


New Books Feeds
Want to know the latest books to arrive in the library? Check out the new books feeds. If the subjects listed are too broad for you, or don't quite encompass your eclectic reading patterns, ask a librarian about how to create your own custom feed.


RefWorks
Save and organize citations for easy citing in Word documents using RefWorks. Sign-up for a RefWorks account to save citations from databases, store copies of articles, and create bibliographies. Use RefWorks' Write-n-Cite tool to insert citations from your RefWorks account into a Word document: Write-n-Cite will format your citations and create a reference/works cited list with about 75% accuracy.


Zotero
Zotero is a free, open-source add-on to the Firefox browser that enables users to collect, manage, and cite research from all types of sources. It is convenient to use because it resides in the browser. Use it to more easily manage bibliographies and references when writing papers or articles.

Librarian

Profile Image
Sara K. Kearns
Contact Info
skearns@k-state.edu
204 Hale Library
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Adriana Gonzalez
Contact Info
124 Hale Library
785-532-5760
Send Email
 

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip