Modern Languages

Welcome to the Libraries' Modern Languages Guide! This guide is designed to help you learn how to use K-State Libraries' many resources for your classes and research in Modern Languages. 

If this guide does not have the information you are looking for, don't hesitate to Ask A Librarian for help any time during the Libraries' service hours or contact Sara K. Kearns (contact information in box on this page.)

Visit K-State Libraries' Frequently Asked Questions.

Quickly start your research by clicking on the links below. Follow topics on the left side of this page for more research tips and sources.

Academic Articles

• MLA International Bibliography (primary database for literary research)
• JSTOR (multidisciplinary database, includes academic articles about languages and literature)

Books

• Search It (locate books and materials in K-State Libraries' collection)
• WorldCat or WorldCat.org (locate books and materials published around the world)

Citations & Bibliographies

• Zotero (citation management software - open access)

Cultural Context

• Diversity Database Suite (database, includes academic articles about cultures and identities )
• ProQuest Research Library (multidisciplinary database, includes academic articles about history and cultures)

Interlibrary Loan

• ILLiad (K-State Libraries' interlibrary loan system)

Language Tutorials

• Mango Languages (language learning database)

Linguistics and Language Acquisition

• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (primary linguistics and language acquisition database, includes academic articles)
• Education Fulltext (early childhood through adult learning database, includes academic articles)

Literary Criticism

• Literary Reference Center (database, includes author biographies and plot overviews, some academic articles)

News

• ProQuest Global Newsstream (database with news sources in many languages from around the world)
• Google News (current news from around the world)