Innovation and Inspiration: The Campaign for Kansas University

Morse Department

Basic Guide to Locating Materials from Special Collections & University Archives

Welcome!

The Richard L.D. & Marjorie J. Morse Department of Special Collections houses hundreds of archival collections. These include unpublished papers, photographs and other materials associated with Cookery, Kansas Life and Culture, the Consumer Movement and K-State History.

The following links and instructional images open in new tabs, and images will be enlarged.

Archon Finding Aids

To locate materials in archival collections, search the Morse Department's Collection Guides. These are discoverable through the Archon platform. Archon is an open source platform designed to allow archival repositories such as the Morse Department to easily create and publish finding aids to their collections.
 

The image below, Kansas State University Libraries' Archon page, shows the starting point for searching through the Morse Department of Special Collections. Click on the following link to access the page: http://www.lib.k-state.edu/apps/findingaids/index.php.

Morse Department of Special Collections finding aids

Step 1. To perform a search, enter your query into the search box. For example, we'll search for items in our collection related to "Iraq."

Using the search window

Step 2. A search result will appear that defines the type of record that Archon retrieved. In this case, the search found two matches under "Records and Manuscripts."

Records and Manuscripts

Step 3. Click on "Results Found Within Box List" for relevant items.

The result that comes up is, "National Union of Iraqi Students and Youth." That's It!  Take note of Collection Name:  Office of Student Activities and Services Records; Container "Box 13" and "Folder 59." Bring this information with you to the Morse Department, 506 Hale Library or call ahead to request materials.

Student organization registration records