Skip to main content
Check our continuation of services webpage for updates related to COVID-19.

Databases A-Z

New / Trials Citation Linker
Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

Ask a Librarian

decorative flourish

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases have been recently added to the directory or are being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides more than 300 narrated videos of real cadaver specimens from one of the premier doctors in anatomy. A glossary is available to help with Latin terminology. There is an exam section where you can test yourself or exams can be assigned as part of a class assessment. Links are available for use within Canvas. Users are encouraged to create a personal account to store selected videos and exams.
New
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes OSCE Clinical Skills videos. Delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques with careful attention to clinical accuracy and a range of patient types are profiled. There is over 8 hours of video content. Users are encouraged to create a personal account to bookmark their favorite content and for use off campus with no need for authentication. This will need to be renewed every 90 days. Links are available to embed within Canvas.
New
Paid for by K-State Libraries
This independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. DOAJ allows for keyword searching of articles as well as searching of journals.
New
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films, providing on demand access. Films are created by renowned leaders in documentary film distribution, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, First Run Features, Kartemquin Films, KimStim Films, MediaStorm, Scorpion TV, Terra Nova Films and the National Film Board of Canada. Previews of the first 10 minutes of most films are available. Instructors will need to register within Docuseek to request individual films. Already licensed material is available under My Library.

For further information on video resources for teaching, a resource guide is available. Scroll down to the section on Streaming Videos.
New
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Founded by the pioneering American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare's Globe is dedicated to the exploration of Shakespeare's work and the theatre for which he wrote. The Globe Theatre has gained an international reputation for world-class Shakespeare.
Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen 1 (2008 – 2015) contains 21 plays recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors including Mark Rylance, Stephen Fry, and Roger Allam’s Olivier Award-winning Falstaff in Henry IV.
Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen 2 (2016 – 2018) contains 9 landmark productions from the theatre’s most recent seasons, including two productions from Emma Rice’s tenure as Artistic Director and the first production from the indoor Jacobean theatre, the Sam Wanamaker Playhouse.
We have access to this resource only through May 31, 2021.
New
Free Resource
Contains 1.2 million theses and dissertations from around the world. OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Proviides researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
New
Paid for by K-State Libraries NEH Endowment Fund
Allows the mining and analyzing of text and data from a selection of newspapers including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Visualization tools provide easy ways to manipulate the results. An account, using your K-State email address, must be created to use this database.

For more in-depth analysis, researchers with coding skills can request a workbench, from your subject librarian, that will allow for collaboration of colleagues and analyzing of data using Python or R. A workbench allows the mining and analyzing of text and data from the Libraries’ ProQuest collections (current and historical newspapers, full-text dissertations and theses, scholarly journals, primary sources, etc.) and personal datasets (open-access content such as institutional repositories, journal articles, social media, blogs, etc.).
title
Loading...