Entomology

TBD

Library Research Guide

Database Tips

Searching these resources is different from searching the Internet. K-State Libraries pays to subscribe to the databases; they are not found in an online search. Their content is collected and maintained by various companies and organizations.

Keywords: Before you begin, break your topic into key concepts; think about the terminology/keywords you wish to search for and possible synonyms.
Subject Headings: Look for "Subject Headings," "Subjects," "Keywords" or "Descriptors" to help narrow your search. Different databases may recognize different terms. As you find these tags, construct your search using the language/terminology of that database.
Truncation: Use "truncation" (an asterisk at end of word stem): teen* searches for "teen", "teens", "teenager", "teenagers", etc. by adding all possible endings.
Wildcard: Use "wildcard" (a quotation mark inside a word): wom?n searches for "women" or "woman".
Help: When you're in a database, look for its “Help” section.

Advanced Search: Look for the "Guided Search" or "Advanced Search" options so that you have more search boxes.

AND = both concepts must be present, helps limit the search (Ex. stormwater AND management)
OR = great for synonyms (Ex. "universal design" OR "inclusive design")
NOT = exclude an unrelated term (Ex. "nigel coates" NOT "book review")

Get It: No full text available? Click on the "Get It" button to search for the article in our database subscriptions. If it's not there, it will look for a print copy available on campus or through Interlibrary Loan.

Best Bets!

CAB Abstracts
Publication Dates Covered:1973 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Over 9.7 million citations and abstracts are searchable in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, health and nutrition, recreation, leisure, and tourism. It comes with CABI Full Text for access to over 495,000 articles, conference papers, and reports in English and foreign languages.
Web of Science Core Collection
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. Be sure all indexes are selected in the "Editions" pull-down menu above the search boxes. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
CABI Digital Library
Publication Dates Covered:1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The most thorough and extensive source in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. Other databases available are VetMed Resource, CABI Full Text, Distribution Maps Plant Diseases, CAB ebooks Archive (2008-2010), and Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC). Each database is available through the above CAB Direct link or an individual link found under the corresponding first letter. Over 13 million records are available in CAB Direct.

Other Databases

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates Covered: 1970 - present Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Contains citations from the National Agricultural Library. Around 2,500 journals are indexed as well as USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, conference proceedings, books, theses, and audio-visual materials. All aspects of agriculture are covered.
BioOne
Paid for by K-State Libraries
BioOne is a global collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Distribution Maps of Plant Diseases
Paid for by K-State Libraries database guide
Database of over 1800 maps showing the presence and extent of specific plant diseases worldwide. Covers plant diseases and pests of economic or quarantine importance.
Plantwise Knowledge Bank
Free Resource
The Plantwise Knowledge Bank is a global resource to help combat plant health problems. Select your location from the menu above to view country- or region-specific plant health information. You may use the diagnostic tool to find out what problem might be affecting your crop; use the site search to find information on management of pests and diseases; or use the map to view the distribution of up to three pest or crop species at a time.
PubAg
Free Resource
PubAg, created by the National Agricultural Library, is a portal to USDA-authored and other relevant agricultural research. At launch in 2015, it delivered over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and citations to an additional 340,000 articles and continues to add citations and articles each month. The initial release also previews its directions for intended functionality and will serve as the foundation for further enhancements.
Scopus
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. Full-text articles are available by using the Get It button.

Google Scholar

Do you like using Google Scholar? Use the link below to be connected to resources paid for by K-State Libraries (only available to current faculty, staff, and students) while you are searching.

Google Scholar
Free Resource
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that they aren’t actually all “scholarly.” Look for the text “Get It @ KSU” instead of the usual “Get It” button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It is sometimes found under the “more” link below the record.

Database Tips

Keywords: Before you begin, break your topic into key concepts; think about the terminology/keywords you wish to search for and possible synonyms.
Subject Headings: Look for "Subject Headings," "Subjects," "Keywords" or "Descriptors" to help narrow your search. Different databases may recognize different terms. As you find these tags, construct your search using the language/terminology of that database.
Truncation: Use "truncation" (an asterisk at end of word stem): teen* searches for "teen", "teens", "teenager", "teenagers", etc. by adding all possible endings.
Wildcard: Use "wildcard" (a quotation mark inside a word): wom?n searches for "women" or "woman".
Help: When you're in a database, look for its “Help” section.

Advanced Search: Look for the "Guided Search" or "Advanced Search" options so that you have more search boxes.

AND = both concepts must be present, helps limit the search (Ex. stormwater AND management)
OR = great for synonyms (Ex. "universal design" OR "inclusive design")
NOT = exclude an unrelated term (Ex. "nigel coates" NOT "book review")