Statistics

This library research guide helps you locate materials to support learning and researching statistical methods.

Library Research Guide

Suggested Keywords and Phrases

Keywords are terms or phrases that help researchers get better results. Make a list of words that describe what you need. Example:

sampling
methods
software

About the Databases

E-Journals
Use e-journals to determine whether or not we subscribe to a journal and its format (print, electronic or both)
K-State Databases
Databases are a place to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles and sometimes other items like electronic books, dissertation chapters, and more. Databases are accessible from off campus to all current students, faculty, and staff with an eID and password.

Learning Statistical Methods and Software

Some of your classes will introduce new methods and software. Use the links below to find sources on how to use software and apply statistics concepts.

MOOCs and OERs

A MOOC is a Massive Open Online Course. An OER is an Open Educational Resource. Both are created by professors and instructors and open to the public. Some MOOCs have a fee for graded assignments, certificates, or services related to the course but usually the content in these courses is free.

Search the sites below to find resources to supplement your class notes, textbook, and other materials shared by your instructor or professor in Canvas. Learning from different instructors on a MOOC or YouTube video could help you

clarify new statistics concepts
practice using statistics software

MOOC (Massive Open Online Course)

Class Central - Statistics Courses
Class Central is a database for finding MOOCs. It links to MOOCs from other sites including EdX and Coursera.
EdX - Statistics Courses
EdX hosts MOOCs from universities and colleges around the world. Courses are free but certificates or programs have fees.
Coursera - Probability and Statistics
Coursera hosts free courses from universities and colleges around the world. Coursera also offers certificates for a fee.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Introductory Statistics from OpenStax
Introductory Statistics follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering.
Open Commons
Open Commons is a database of OER. This link is to statistics resources for undergraduates. Use the filters to the left to narrow the search or start a new search.
Introductory Business Statistics from OpenStax
Introductory Business Statistics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors.

Databases

Learn by Reading Articles

Search the databases below to find the articles that developed the methods you are learning. You can also find articles that apply statistical methods in various disciplines. If you are new to reading scientific articles, read the page on this guide called Reading.

Current Index to Statistics
Free Resource
The Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from approximately 160 core journals, 1,200 additional journals in related fields, and 11,000 books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017. It does not contain full articles, but users can get access by clicking the "article" link in each record.

Web of Science Core Collection
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 21,000 journals, you can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Scopus
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It has records from over 50,000 scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
arXiv
Free Resource
Provides open access to over 1.5 million e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. Content is submitted by authors/scientists.

How to...

If you are looking for articles that explain statistics concepts or how to apply various statistical methods or data you can work with, try these:

O'Reilly for Higher Education
Paid for by K-State Libraries
O’Reilly for Higher Education is a collection of about 42,000 ebooks and videos, covering topics in computer science, business and management, personal and career development, engineering, software and Web development, drawing and painting, and travel.
SAGE Research Methods
Paid for by K-State Libraries
SAGE Research Methods helps users create research projects and understand the methods behind them. It includes over 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and the “Little Green Book” and “Little Blue Book” series. Journal articles and videos are also included.

Suggested Keywords and Phrases

Keywords are terms or phrases that help researchers get better results. Make a list of words that describe what you need. Example:

sampling
methods
software

About the Databases

E-Journals
Use e-journals to determine whether or not we subscribe to a journal and its format (print, electronic or both)
K-State Databases
Databases are a place to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles and sometimes other items like electronic books, dissertation chapters, and more. Databases are accessible from off campus to all current students, faculty, and staff with an eID and password.