Theatre & Film: History and Criticism
A Guide for Theatre History I & II, American Ethnic Theatre, and Film
Library Research Guide
Welcome
Hello! This guide was developed for a number of K-State Theatre classes taught by Dr. Shannon Skelton: THTRE 572 and 573, Theatre History Iⅈ THTRE 270, Introduction to Theatre; THTRE 235/630, Film; and THTRE 672, American Ethnic Theatre. Dr. Skelton can be contacted at sbskelton@ksu.edu
While these resources are extensive, your own research may lead you to different materials. If you have concerns about the credibility of any resources, please contact Dan or Shannon.
Finally, please note that while this page contains resources for all classes, some material specific to THTRE 235/630 and THTRE 672 are located on additional tabs found at the top of the column.
Theatre & Film Databases
- IIPA: International Index of the Performing ArtsSearches journal and magazine articles that relate to the performing arts. It does not contain full text but is a good place to start research.
- New York Times, HistoricalPublication Dates Covered: 1851-2020 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Digitized version of The New York Times since its first issue in 1851. Search the full text of articles to find articles on a wide variety of topics. Full name of the database is ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index. - Times Digital ArchivePublication Dates Covered: 1785-2019 Paid for by K-State Libraries
The complete issues of more than two hundred years of The Times of London are available for keyword searching by users, including articles, advertisements, and illustrations. Coverage of specific events and trends can be reviewed, providing a contemporary view to modern researchers.
Scholarly Journals in Theatre
These journals are scholarly in nature, many of them peer reviewed, and so are of the highest quality when it comes to credibility. Use these for analyses of performances and production.
- Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism1986-2011. Addressing paradigms used in or potentially useful for dramatic theory and criticism, broadly conceived
- New Theatre Quarterly: NTQ1997-present from multiple sources. Provides an international forum where theatrical scholarship and practice can meet.
- PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art1998-present from multiple sources. Offers extended coverage of the visual arts, in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera.
- TDR: The Drama Review1998-2015 from multiple sources. Provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic, and political contexts.
- Theatre Journal1997-present from multiple sources. Features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production.
Scholarly Organization Journal Lists
- Association for Theatre in Higher Education JournalsAn intellectual and artistic center for producing new knowledge about theatre and performance-related disciplines
- Society for Cinema and Media Studies JournalsPromotes a broad understanding of film, television, and related media through research and teaching grounded in the contemporary humanities tradition
Film Journals
- AlphavilleAn Open Access film journal, coverage 2011 to present. International forum open to the discussion of all aspects of film and screen media history, theory and criticism through multiple research methodologies and perspectives
- Film CommentFrom the Film Society of Lincoln Center, coverage 1971-present. Features articles on narrative, documentary and independent film makers, filmography, film criticism and book reviews.
- Film HistoryNumerous vendors, 1967-present. Areas of interest are the production, distribution, exhibition, and reception of films designed for commercial theaters.
- Film QuarterlyUniversity of California Press, covers 1958-present. In-depth articles, reviews, and interviews that examine all aspects of film history, film theory, and the impact of film, video, and television on culture and society
- Velvet Light TrapAnalysis of American film and tv, 1990-present. Features critical essays exploring alternative methodological approaches to the analysis of American film and television
Popular Periodicals
Please note that these journals are not considered "scholarly" per se, but they do have excellent information and can be your best resource for reviews.
- Hollywood ReporterPublished since 1930, our coverage extends from 2002-present, with sporadic coverage 1978-2002. Provides news coverage and information on all aspects of the industry, including film, television, music, video games, and awards.
- New YorkerPublished from 1925, online access available 2002-present with some availability from 1978. Magazine publishing news editorials, short fiction, poetry, and art reviews
- PlaybillExternal website, covering reviews, awards, and special features for theatrical productions
- VarietyFilm and theatre reviews first published in 1905, available 1997-2017 with selected issues from 1978, depending on vendor. Features the most current news, box office reports, and film and television production charts.
- Village VoiceExternal website with reviews of alternative theatre
Other Periodicals
- American TheatreFrom the Theatre Communications Group, coverage 1992-present. Consumer magazine featuring reports on plays in print, as well as performances and theater season schedules. Presents current trends in nonprofit American theater.
- CineasteFilm, art, and design from 1967 to 2020. Contributions from film writers, critics, and scholars; interviews with actors and filmmakers; and reviews of film, home video, and books.
- Theatre TopicsBrief run from 1991-2003. The first theatre publication devoted to issues of concern to practitioners, Theatre Topics focuses on performance studies, dramaturgy, and theatre pedagogy.
