Film Studies

This guide provides information about viewing, studying, and producing films at K-State.

Library Research Guide

Industry Data

These sites provide data about films, including box office data.

Box Office Mojo
Owned by IMDb (Internet Movie Database), Box Office Mojo reports on how much films make in the box office. Includes weekend, monthly, yearly data.
BoxOffice Pro Pulse
From the industry magazine BoxOffice, this page reports the box office data on films back to the late 1970s. Explore the data by date or search for a specific film.
The Numbers
Site provides movie data including domestic (U.S.) and international box office, watched at home top 20, distributor market shares and more. Some data is available back to the 1970s, but is spotty. Becomes more comprehensive in the 1990s.
You can also search by individuals, genres, and keywords, plus build reports.

Industry Reports

Industry reports provide data and analyze specific aspects of the film industry. They differ from the pure data sources by providing context for the data.

Business Databases

These databases provide overviews of the film and related industries from a business perspective. You are more likely to locate information about the film industry as a whole, rather than specific companies.

Useful search terms include:

film
cinema
animation
television
media
streaming video
on-demand
production
distributors

IBISWorld
Paid for by K-State Libraries
K-State Libraries subscribes to IBISWorld US Industry Reports and US Specialized Industry Reports. The US Industry reports module covers 700 industries. Reports have statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. The Specialized Industry Reports complement the Industry Reports module and can be useful when researching small or new industries.
Statista
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Insights and facts across 600 industries and 50+ countries; includes the Global Consumer Survey. Use as the starting point of your research to get facts and insights on topics that matter, expert research in condensed form, market outlooks, analyzed markets from 150+ countries, daily infographics, visualized global stories, and global consumer survey information.

Research and Interest Group Reports

These reports are created by organizations such as academic institutions or nonprofit organizations that research the film and media industries.

Hollywood Diversity Report
Annual reports published by UCLA that examine Hollywood television and films in regards to the diversity of actors, genre, show locations, and more.
GLAAD Studio Responsibility Index Report
Annual report from GLAAD (an LGBTQ rights organization) that tracks queer representation in films released by major motion picture studios.
Women's Media Center Reports
The WMC studies media broadly, including news, television, and film. Their reports "shed a light on the underrepresentation and misrepresentation of women in the media."

Industry and Professional Association Reports

These reports are generated by organizations that represent creatives and/or corporations associated with the film industry.

Motion Picture Association Research Reports
Annual reports from the Motion Picture Association. One focuses on the motion picture and television industry, a second report THEME, focuses on the theatrical and home/mobile entertainment market.
Writers Guild of America, West: Annual Report to Writers
Annual financial reports from the WAGW going back to 1998. Includes information about employment, earnings, and residuals for writers and financial data for the organization.