- Library Home
- Research Guides
- Film Studies
- Film Production at K-State
Film Studies
Library Research Guide
Resources for Producing Films at K-State
This page includes information about resources available to K-State students, faculty, and staff for producing films at K-State. Some resources are also available for members of our community.
Checkout Equipment and Reserve Studios
K-State Libraries and the Division of Information Technology offer equipment and software for K-State students faculty and staff.
Most of this technology is available in the Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab, located on Hale Library's 1st and 2nd floors.
Check Out Technology
- List of IT EquipmentTechnology available in the Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab. Includes still and video cameras, laptops, tripods and more.
- IT Equipment Checkout PoliciesInformation about loan periods, checkout requirements (bring your K-State ID card!), late fees/charges, and more.
Reserve Studios (and other spaces)
The Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab is rolling out studios and other spaces that can be reserved for producing audio and film.
As of January 2022, we are still waiting on some technology to be delivered and installed, so check the Sunderland Foundation Innovation website throughout the semester for information about more studios coming online.
Reserve a Studio
- One-Button Plus StudioThis small studio room features studio lighting, cameras, microphones, a green screen and recording equipment that operates through minimal effort. It’s ideal for recording presentations, interviews and even podcasts.
- Media StudioThis computer lab features iMacs and Windows PCs with video, image, and sound editing software, as well as VR, AR and CAD development apps. The space also has a reserved area for 1 multifunction color copier and 1 large-format scanner. There are 19 total computers with one instructor station which includes Poly videoconferencing equipment.
Note: Individuals do not need to reserved the whole space to use the resources in this space. HOWEVER, check the calendar to ensure that a class or other group has not reserved the space during a time when you hoped to use it. - Media GalleryThis room includes 3 projectors and sound equipment to immerse users in rich digital media. The room can also display regular content, making it useful as a meeting space for digital collaboration.
Create Props and Costumes
The Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab offers 3D printing, a GlowForge laser cutter, and sewing machines to fulfill your prop and costume creation needs.
Production and Editing Software and Hardware
Don't have the funds for design software or drawing tablets? Visit the Media Studio, located on the 1st floor of Hale in the Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab.
- Media StudioThe Media Studio in the Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab provides access to design and creativity software and hardware. Follow the link for updated information.
How to
Want to create, but aren't sure how to use the technology and equipment? Check out these resources.
Using the Studio Spaces
These guides offer information about using the tools and resources in the Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab. These guides also include links to manuals, videos, and other websites to help you get started or level up on your creative projects.
- 3d PrintingLearn to use the 3d printers in the Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab.
- Laser Cutting, Etching, and ScoringLearn how to use the two laser cutters available in the Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab.
- One Button+ StudioLearn to use the One Button+ Studio for recording videos.
- SewingLearn to use the sewing machines in the Sunderland Foundation Innovation Lab.
Manuals
K-State subscribes to O'Reilly for Higher Education, a database with ebooks and videos explaining how to use common software, programming languages, and technology. Below are a sample of titles related to film production, plus a link to the database.
- O'Reilly for Higher EducationPaid for by K-State Libraries
O’Reilly for Higher Education is a collection of about 42,000 ebooks and videos, covering topics in computer science, business and management, personal and career development, engineering, software and Web development, drawing and painting, and travel.
The Complete Guide to Film and Digital Production by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1315294893Publication Date: 2017This expanded, updated, and revised third edition of Lorene Wales' The Complete Guide to Film and Digital Production offers a comprehensive introduction to the positions/roles, procedures, and logistics of the film and digital video production process, from development and pre-production all the way to marketing and distribution.
Nonfiction Sound and Story for Film and Video by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 0429799829Publication Date: 2019This book guides nonfiction storytellers in the art of creatively and strategically using sound to engage their audience and bring stories to life. Written by two experienced creators--one a seasoned nonfiction producer/director with a background in music, and one a sound designer who owns a well-regarded mix studio--this book teaches nonfiction producers, filmmakers, and branded content creators how to reimagine their storytelling by improving sound workflow from field to post.
Filmmakers and Financing: Business Plans for Independents by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1315670089Publication Date: 2016In this new and updated ultimate filmmaker's guide, Louise Levison gives you easy-to-use steps for writing an investor-winning business plan for a feature film.
Resources Beyond K-State
K-State is part of a bigger community that you can use to create your films. We recommend starting with these.
- Manhattan Public Library Online ResourcesWith a library card from Manhattan Public Library, you can access thousands of tutorials via databases like Linkedin Learning and Creativebug.
