Veterinary Medicine

As a K-State student, faculty, or staff member, you have access to all K-State Libraries resources both online and in person. Your personal library account has all information you would need - from what books you have checked out, to renewing materials online, to helpful and useful links to other library resources. 

To access your library account, log in with your K-State eID on our library's Account page.

From here, you will be able to see every item you have checked out, any items that are overdue, any fines/fees associated with your account, book requests/holds, etc. You can also renew any item that has a renew available here.

Other links are available from this page, as well, like access to your Interlibrary Loan account, other Library Guides, databases, and chat functions.

Chatting with a librarian is a quick and easy way to get information! For Vet Med specific librarians use the chat box below. If for some reason the chat light is not green, you're welcome to still use the chat function and chat with a main campus librarian.

Please see the K-State Libraries guide on Search It to learn all about how to navigate our K-State Libraries online system. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to email Andi Parrish or Heather Etelamaki for additional assistance.

K-State Libraries provides many different options for our students, faculty, and staff to acquire materials they need. Whether the item is available online, in one of our library locations, or in another library outside of K-State Libraries systems, we can access this information and help you obtain what you need. Below is a list of helpful guides on how to obtain materials:

1. Get It function
2. Interlibrary Loan
3. Library Basics
4. E-Book access

Located at the Vet Med

If an item you are looking for is physically located within the Vet Med library, the item's location will indicate it is within our stacks. Our stacks locations are around our library; however, most of our items are located within our main periodical and monograph collections. Please see the list below for our stacks locations:

1. Monographs
   • Traditional books including fiction, non-fiction, guides, informative literature, textbooks, etc.
   • Located in the Quiet Room of the Veterinary Medical Library
   • Access to these materials is limited to Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 4:45pm
   • Checkout periods are dependent upon status at K-State
2. Periodicals
   • Journals and magazines - both bound together and unbound items
   • Located in the Quiet Room of the Veterinary Medical Library
   • Access to these materials is limited to Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 4:45pm
   • Checkout periods on bound periodicals are dependent upon status at K-State
   • Checkout periods on unbound periodicals are prohibited - these items can be scanned within the library
3. History Collection
   • Historical books that are either about the history of Vet Med, the history of K-State's Vet Med program, first edition books, or books written by Vet Med alumni
   • Located on two shelving units located in the main part of the library near the collaboration rooms
   • Access to these materials is allowed all day - however, checking out items can only be done Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 5:00pm
   • Checkout periods are 7 days, without exception
4. Archive
   • Contains yearbooks for the Vet Med, books published by staff and faculty, some conference proceedings, etc.
   • Located in the Quiet Room of the Veterinary Medical Library on the walls in shelving units
   • Access to these materials is limited to Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 4:45pm
   • These items cannot be checked out nor leave the library
5. Oversized
   • Large books and anatomy guides that otherwise cannot fit on standard shelves
   • Located in the Quiet Room of the Veterinary Medical Library on the walls in shelving units
   • Access to these materials is limited to Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 4:45pm
   • Checkout periods are dependent upon status at K-State
6. Reference
   • Contains anatomy guides, lab manuals, drug manuals and formularies, dictionaries, financial reports for Vet Med, etc.
   • Located on main shelf in the main library of Veterinary Medical Library
   • Access to these items is all day
   • These items cannot be checked out nor leave the library
7. Course Reserves
   • Textbooks, videos, and other materials requested by instructors to be set aside for courses
   • Located behind the library desk of the Veterinary Medical Library
   • Access to these items is restricted and dependent upon instructor information/allowance
   • These items have various rules/regulations on checking out - please see the library staff for more information
8. Special Collections
   • Older books - many of which are in various languages - from the 15th-19th centuries
   • We do have some special collections within in our library
   • Please contact Heather Etelamaki for more information

Requests can be made for library materials to be delivered directly to offices, study spaces, etc., if you are time-constricted. Please email the Veterinary Medical Library for more information and/or to submit a request.