Veterinary Medicine

Welcome to the library guide for the College of Veterinary Medicine! Within, you will find information on veterinary specific databases and resources along with information about the Veterinary Medical Library services and the K-State Library systems.

Library Research Guide

Database Searches

Database Informative Guide

Database searching is essential for the Veterinary Medicine student. Whether it is for a class project, clinics, IACUC submissions, or presentations, knowing how to optimally utilize databases is crucial for medical professionals. This guide aims to provide support and how-to instructions for several of our leading veterinary and medical databases. Below are some of the major factors and components to database searching. You will also find pages on specific databases related directly to the veterinary sciences and agriculture.

Veterinary Related Databases

The four major veterinary databases are: PubMed, CAB Direct, Web of Science, and Agricola. For specific questions, concerns, or one-on-one training on database searching, please contact Andi Parrish or schedule an appointment directly via her scheduler found here.

PubMed
Publication Dates Covered: 1950 - present Free Resource
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 21 million citations from Medline and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles.
CABI Digital Library
Publication Dates Covered:1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The most thorough and extensive source in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. Other databases available are VetMed Resource, CABI Full Text, Distribution Maps Plant Diseases, CAB ebooks Archive (2008-2010), and Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC). Each database is available through the above CAB Direct link or an individual link found under the corresponding first letter. Over 13 million records are available in CAB Direct.
Web of Science (includes all databases)
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Simultaneously search the Korean Journal Database, Medline, the Russian Science Citation Index, the SciELO Citation Index, the Preprint Citation Index,™ ProQuest™ Dissertations & Theses Citation Index, and the Web of Science Core Collection.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates Covered: 1970 - present Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Contains citations from the National Agricultural Library. Around 2,500 journals are indexed as well as USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, conference proceedings, books, theses, and audio-visual materials. All aspects of agriculture are covered.