Horticulture
This guide is for people working on horticulture, forestry, or urban agriculture research projects
Library Research Guide
E-Books
Most of the new books that K-State Libraries purchases about agriculture are electronic books. They can all be found using Search It aka "the big search box on the library homepage".
Here are a few relevant e-books from K-State Libraries collection:
Designing Urban Agriculture by Call Number: S494.5.U72 P44 2013ISBN: 1118330234Publication Date: 2013-05-10NOTE: This is also available as a physical book in the architecture library.
Designing Urban Agriculture is a comprehensive guide to edible landscapes, featuring more than 300 full-color photos and illustrations, that provides a foundation in ecological principles and a design process based on systems thinking to create sustainable, regenerative urban environments through the integration of food, policy, and planning.
Vegetable Grafting by ISBN: 9781780648972Publication Date: 2017-07-26This book is a comprehensive guide to the benefits and methods of using grafted transplants in crop protection and improvement, covering rootstock breeding, physiological mechanisms, and practical applications in horticulture.
Vegetables by ISBN: 9783540345350Publication Date: 2007-08-01Vegetables contains reviews in 12 chapters contributed by 31 authors from 10 countries. The impressive work that has been done on most of these crops is presented in this volume. Genome projects already initiated on vegetable crops, particularly on Solanaceae and Brassicaceae species, may ignite further interest in other vegetables as well.
Introduction to Forestry and Natural Resources by ISBN: 9780128190029Publication Date: 2021-05-02This book is an updated overview of the profession of forestry, covering key fields within forestry, including forest management, economics, policy, and career opportunities, as well as topics such as forest regions, landowners, forest products, wildlife habitats, and forest disturbances.
Call number ranges and finding books
K-State Libraries uses the Library of Congress call number system. Most books about horticulture will be found in the S (general agriculture) call numbers or SB (plant culture) call numbers. To learn more details of the Library of Congress agriculture call numbers visit their page about the S call numbers.
Library locations
Hale Library - Many agriculture books can be found on the fourth floor of Hale Library. There are also a few in the curriculum materials collection and juvenile literature collection in room 140.
Paul Weigel Library of Architecture, Planning and Design (0081 Regnier Hall) - Because K-State has a landscape architecture department, some horticulture books are located there. The library is open to all, even if you are a not affiliated with that college.
Books
Below is a selection of physical books in the K-State Libraries collection. Even more books can be found using Search It, the big search box on the library homepage.
General
Carrot City by Call Number: S494.5.U72 G67 2011ISBN: 9781580933117Publication Date: 2011-09-20Carrot City is a collection of ideas and projects that use design to enable sustainable food production in urban environments, including community gardens, greenhouses, edible landscapes, and green roofs.
Nursery Management by Call Number: SB118.5 .D38 2000ISBN: 9780138579968Publication Date: 1999-06-28This book provides comprehensive information on all aspects of nursery management, including site selection, organization, financial management, production, and marketing. It also covers specific topics such as soil and nutrition management, media and nutrition management, irrigation, and weed, insect, and disease control.
Introductory Horticulture by Call Number: SB318 .R43 2002ISBN: 9780766815674Publication Date: 2000-11-01This is a competency-based, introductory horticulture book written in an easy-to-read, engaging style, it enables users to measure their progress. This book includes numerous illustrations to help reinforce written material. It provides a thorough introduction to the world of horticulture. This latest edition includes new chapters on water gardens, dish gardens, and prairie gardens for the more adventuresome gardener.
Ornamental Horticulture by Call Number: SB404.9 .I54 2001ISBN: 9780766814172Publication Date: 2000-12-20This book provides an overview of the art and science of ornamental horticulture, covering topics such as science, crop production, craftsmanship, and business management skills. It is suitable for both hobbyists and professionals and aims to develop readers' creativity and business skills in the booming ornamental horticulture industry.
Plant Propagation
How to Propagate by Call Number: SB119 .C88 2007ISBN: 9781883052577Publication Date: 2007-04-01This book provides detailed instructions and information on propagating common plants, including perennials, maple saplings, and shrubs, and explains the techniques and care required to ensure successful planting and growth.
The Reference Manual of Woody Plant Propagation by Call Number: SB119 .D57 2006ISBN: 9780942375091Publication Date: 2009-02-15Over 1,100 species and their propagation requirements by seeds, cuttings, grafting and budding, and tissue culture are discussed in exhaustive detail. Essentially a recipe book for making more trees and shrubs, this reference is a high-level how-to.
Hartmann and Kester's Plant Propagation by Call Number: SB119 .P55 2011ISBN: 9780135014493Publication Date: 2010-10-21This book is a comprehensive and up-to-date text on plant propagation and horticulture, containing the latest techniques and understanding of propagation biology. It is organized into paired chapters on principles and practices, making it suitable for both practical and conceptual courses.
Fruits and Vegetables
Vegetable Crops by Call Number: SB321 .D393 2000ISBN: 9780139569968Publication Date: 1999-11-04This book provides a comprehensive guide to growing vegetable crops, including commercial and home production. It covers the history, principles, and practices of vegetable crop production, with a focus on the United States' vegetable industry. It divides the material into three sections, discussing common practices, crop specific characteristics, and vegetable crops' nutritional benefits.
Knott's Handbook for Vegetable Growers by Call Number: SB321 .M392 2007ISBN: 9780471738282Publication Date: 2006-10-13This handbook is a comprehensive guide to commercial vegetable production, providing reliable and up-to-date information on growing and marketing vegetables. It includes valuable information in the form of tables and charts, covering topics such as planting rates, soil and fertilizers, pest management, organic production, food safety, and postharvest problems, as well as new information on world vegetable production and best management practices.
African Indigenous Vegetables in Urban Agriculture by Call Number: SB323.A35 A37 2009ISBN: 9781844077151Publication Date: 2009-06-30This book explores the potential and challenges of using indigenous vegetables in urban agriculture in sub-Saharan Africa, highlighting their cultural and local food security significance, low input requirements, and high nutritional value, and discussing their potential to contribute to income generation and poverty alleviation while promoting urban greening and sustainability.
The Berry Grower's Companion by Call Number: SB381 .B68 2000ISBN: 9780881924893Publication Date: 2000-11-17This book is a comprehensive guide to growing berry plants for both pleasure and profit, including strawberry, blueberry, and grapevine, and provides valuable information on plant lists, cultivation tips, and color photographs for plant identification.
Trees & Shrubs
Trees, Shrubs, and Woody Vines in Kansas by Call Number: QK161 .H325 2019ISBN: 9780700627691Publication Date: 2019-05-22Also available as an e-book.
This handbook provides a comprehensive guide to the 166 species of trees, shrubs, and woody vines found in the state, with detailed descriptions, county-level distribution maps, and nearly 1,000 color photographs.
Dirr's Encyclopedia of Trees and Shrubs by Call Number: SB435 .D57 2011ISBN: 9780881929010Publication Date: 2011-10-18This book is is a comprehensive visual reference guide to over 3700 species and cultivars of trees and shrubs, featuring thousands of photographs and detailed information on identification, planting, and care.
