Management

This research guide is for K-State students in management classes. It is a great starting point for students working on research projects for Strategic Management or Business Ethics and Corporate Citizenship courses.

Library Research Guide

Major Business Literature Databases

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) and ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) are the major business literature databases. Although the two databases overlap, some popular publications are only available in one or the other. For example, at K-State, the Harvard Business Review is only available in Business Source Premier, but the Wall Street Journal is available in ABI/INFORM. In addition to news, the databases contain trade and scholarly literature, industry reports, and country risk profiles.

Need to find business news sources? Start with ABI/INFORM.

ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM covers key business and economics titles such as The Economist, the Wall Street Journal, and the Financial Times. The database also includes journals, country profiles, and industry reports.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review in addition to journals, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Need to find general news sources? Start with ProQuest Central.

ProQuest Central
Paid for by K-State Libraries ProQuest Central brings together many of the most used ProQuest databases, including ABI/INFORM. Try this tool when you are looking for general news sources in addition to business news.

Selected Business News Publications

Bloomberg Businessweek (EBSCOhost)
Bloomberg Businessweek reports on the people, companies, events, and trends shaping the global economy.
The Economist (Online) (ProQuest)
The Economist is an important source of global business and economic news and analysis.
Financial Times (ProQuest)
Access with one-month delay (embargo). The Financial Times is an important global business publication.
Forbes (EBSCOhost)
Forbes covers business news, financial information, and industry trends.

Wall Street Journal (via ProQuest)
Publication Dates Covered: 2010 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Follow current business and financial news. Full-text of the articles is available. The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (1984 - present) is also available.

Selected Academic Journals for Practitioners and Managers

Academy of Management Perspectives (EBSCOhost)
Perspectives provides accessible articles about important issues concerning management & business.
California Management Review (EBSCOhost)
Published at the University of California, the California Management Review bridges the gap between those who study management and those who practice it.
Harvard Business Review Digital Articles (EBSCOhost)
2007 to present. Harvard Business Review publishes articles aimed at managers. Some content published on HBR.org is not included in Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost).
MIT Sloan Management Review (ProQuest)
Aimed at practitioners, MIT Sloan Management Review features research-based articles on strategic leadership, technology, and sustainability.
MIT Technology Review (ProQuest)
MIT Technology Review provides analysis, reviews, and interviews on the newest technologies and their commercial, social, and political impacts.

Tips for Finding News Articles in ProQuest Databases

Limit by source type.

For current business news, limit to newspapers, magazines, and trade journals. Use the source type menu to the left of the search results.

Limit by publication title.

Use the menu to the left of the search results to limit to a select group of publications.