AVT 707 - Research Methods - Salina Campus

This library guide provides you with a starting point for your research as you consider methodologies and modalities. Use the menu or the page links at the bottom to navigate through the guide.  On this page, we'll cover some considerations for graduate study and research before fully diving into the individual sections of the guide. Contact your librarian, Dr. Mirtz, at mirtz@ksu.edu or by calling the library at 785-260-6809.

Quick Links:

K-State IRB (Internal Review Board) for Human Subjects Research

Qualtrics (survey tool)

Sage Research Methods

Grammarly access -- scroll down to see Grammarly instructions

As you progress through your program, you will find that the expectations in graduate school are much higher and the demand for your time and attention will be much greater. One of the major differences between undergraduate and graduate education is that while as an undergraduate student you were expected to learn the foundations and principles within your chosen discipline, as a graduate student, you are now expected to contribute to the knowledge of your discipline. With that in mind, here are some resources that may help you adjust to the new expectations.

Top Journals

These links provide searchable access and information about submitting manuscripts:

AIAA Journal

Journal of Air Transportation

Journal of Air Transport Management

Journal of Engineering and Technology Management

Browse more journals from Aerospace Research Central

Progress in Aerospace Sciences

Aerospace Science and Technology

Journal of Airline and Airport Management

Human Factors

Ergonomics

International Journal of Sustainable Aviation

Transportation Research Part D: Transport and Environment

Drone Systems and Applications

Selecting a research topic is an important decision for graduate students. Here are some tips that may help you with selecting a research topic:

1. Follow your passion: Consider a topic that you are passionate about. It will be easier to stay motivated and engaged in your research if you have a personal interest in the topic.

2. Consider your strengths and expertise: Choose a topic that aligns with your strengths and expertise. This will make it easier for you to conduct research, and you will be more likely to produce quality work.

3. Review the literature: Conduct a thorough review of the literature in your field. Look for gaps in the existing research that you can fill with your own research.

4. Seek advice from your advisor: Consult with your advisor or mentor for advice on selecting a research topic. They can provide valuable insights based on their experience and expertise.

5. Consider the feasibility: Choose a topic that is feasible within the scope of your resources and timeline. Consider the availability of data, research participants, funding, and other necessary resources.

It's also important to consider the impact of your research. As you weigh your options, choose a topic that has the potential to contribute to the existing knowledge base, and that can benefit society in some way.

Overall, selecting a research topic is an important decision that requires careful consideration. By following these tips, you can increase your chances of selecting a topic that is both meaningful and feasible.

Produced by K-State Libraries

Search It helps you discover and obtain library resources. It enables simultaneous searching of information about K-State Libraries' physical and online collections, and about articles and other sources from hundreds of databases, journal publishers, and organizations. It is an invaluable research tool for novices and experts alike. This guide will teach you how to use Search It to find resources.

If you have any questions about Search It or about this guide, do not hesitate to Ask a Librarian.

Search It has information about hundreds of millions of resources. Please note that K-State Libraries may not have full access to every item that is listed in Search It. 

With Search It, you must specify one of four facets to search. They are:

• Books, articles + more (default)
• K-State Libraries only (our collections)
• Course Reserves (class materials put on reserve by faculty)
• Research Guides (guides created to help with a particular course or discipline)

In addition to K-State Libraries' physical and online collections, Search It includes information about hundreds of millions of physical and online resources. Search It provides links to those online resources that are free or that have been paid for by K-State Libraries. For physical and online resources that K-State Libraries neither owns nor pays for, Search It provides an Interlibrary Loan link.

K-State Libraries staff carefully purchase, select, and create collections to support Kansas State University's instruction and research missions. 

Use a K-State Libraries Only search to find:

• The location and availability of physical materials held in one of the K-State Libraries.
• Links for online resources purchased, selected, or created by K-State Libraries.

• Do not type complete sentences or questions. Instead, type keywords or phrases, e.g., dog training.
• Start with only a few terms. You can always add more later.
• Be flexible - if you don't like your results, retry your search with different words.
• After you perform a search, consider using the Topics filter under "Refine My Results" to refine your search terms around related topics. Look carefully through the list of topics, select all that are of interest to you, and select "Apply Filters" to narrow your search results.

• Double-check your spelling.
• When searching for long, complex titles, try entering only the first five to six words.
• Use either the Simple Search interface or the Advanced Search interface. 
  • In the Simple Search interface, use the right drop-down menu to specify whether you are searching for an author or for a title.
    
    
     
  • In the Advanced Search interface, use the drop-down menu to the left of a row to specify whether that row's terms are for an author or a title.
    
    

Boolean operators are words used to combine or exclude keywords in a library keyword search. The three basic Boolean operators are AND, OR, and NOT. Using AND between two or more keywords narrows the search to only items that include all the specified terms. Using OR between two or more keywords broadens the search to include items that include any of the specified terms. Using NOT before a keyword excludes items that contain that term from the search results.

Go to Search It using the link below and apply your keywords using Boolean Operators to help narrow down search results and potential resources related to your topic.

After you conduct a search, you will have several options for limiting your results. Each time you limit your results, you will see a new set of options for limiting your results. By applying a series of limits, you can quickly focus on the resources you want to see.

Filters include resource type, publication date, availability, and more.

Refine your results by exploring the options shown to the left of your results. 

Be cautious about using the exclude checkboxes, especially when you are limiting by topic. You can also sort results by author, by title, or by popularity.

When identifying a relevant result, take note of the format description that appears above results in Search It. Format descriptions distinguish between item formats such as: book, review, article, video, audio, journal, or newspaper. For instance, sometimes we own book reviews, but not the actual book: 

There also may be instances in which similarly titled items are available in multiple formats, such as when books are made into movies (video format). 

Every time you set a filter, Search It will display the filter at the top of the results set.

You can remove the filter by clicking the "x" in the tile for that search filter. When you do this, your results will immediately update.

If you're not seeing the results you want, you can also use our External Search options such as Google Scholar, WorldCat, and EBSCO. By selecting one of these, you will be redirected to their search results in a new browser tab.

K-State's Search It has a very powerful tool in the Journal Finder.  Using this feature, you can browse or search through K-State's thousands of online journal subscriptions.  With the Journal Finder, you are not limited to just Academic Scholarly journals.  You have access to the entire catalog including popular newspapers, magazines, and newsletters.  You can search by individual journal title, subject, or keywords.

To browse through the available categories, click the CATEGORIES icon located just under the e-Journals Search Box.

Here are four excellent resources for peer-reviewed articles on computer science and trends in Integrated Systems Design and Dynamics (ISDD). The Association for Computing Machines (ACM) journals are the best for computer science topics, followed very closely by Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) publications. SCOPUS is the citation and abstract database for Elsevier, one of the largest science publishers in the world. SpringerLink is also a great resource for computer science with hundreds of peer-reviewed journals available.

Looking for an ebook?  We have you covered with IEEE eBooks Library and Knovel. 

Selecting a research method involves considering several factors such as the research question, the nature of the data to be collected, the scope of the study, the availability of resources, and your preferences as a researcher. Here are some things to consider as you select a research method:

1. Identify your research question: The first step in selecting a research method is to define your research question. This will guide your choice of research method.

2. Review existing literature: Before selecting a research method, it is important to review existing literature on your topic. This can help you identify the most appropriate research method for your study.

3. Consider the nature of the data: The nature of the data you need to collect will also influence your choice of research method. For example, if you need to collect quantitative data, you may consider using a survey or an experiment. If you need to collect qualitative data, you may consider using interviews or focus groups.

4. Determine the scope of the study: The scope of your study will also influence your choice of research method. If you are conducting a large-scale study, you may consider using a survey. If you are conducting a small-scale study, you may consider using interviews or focus groups.

5. Evaluate available resources: You should also consider the resources available to you, such as time, money, and personnel. Some research methods may require more resources than others.

Lastly, consider your own preferences and strengths. If you have experience with a particular research method, you may feel more comfortable using it; however, be sure to consider all the factors above to ensure that the method you are comfortable using is appropriate to your study or research question.  It is also important to remember that research methods are not mutually exclusive and that you can use a combination of methods to achieve your research goals.

Produced by Sage Research Methods

 The Sage Research Methods Project Planner is an excellent resource whether you are feeling completely lost or you just need a little bit of help.  This comprehensive guide will take you from topic exploration and selection all the way through research and analysis.  This is a great tool to revisit throughout the stages of the research process.

Quantitative research is a methodological approach to collecting and analyzing numerical data in order to describe and explain phenomena. Here are some of the most common quantitative research methods:

1. Surveys require collecting data from a sample of participants using a set of standardized questions. Surveys can be conducted through various methods such as online, paper-based, or phone interviews.

2. Experiments involve manipulating one or more variables and measuring the effect on other variables. For example, a researcher may investigate the effect of a new drug by randomly assigning participants to either receive the drug or a placebo and then measuring the outcomes.

3. Observational studies include observing and recording behavior or phenomena in their natural setting. This method can be used to gather data on a wide range of topics, such as social interactions, environmental phenomena, or consumer behavior. **Note** - Observational studies can fall under both quantitative AND qualitative methods.  In the quantitative sense, the researcher is concerned with counting or measuring some numerical aspect of the subject

4. Content analyses require analyzing the content of written or recorded materials, such as news articles or social media posts. Researchers may use content analysis to identify patterns or trends in the data. **Note** - Content analysis can serve as both a quantitative method AND a Qualitative method.  In the quantitative sense, the researcher is concerned with counting and measuring.

5. Secondary data analyses involve using existing data collected by others for a different purpose. This method can be useful when the research question has already been addressed by other researchers or when the data are too expensive or time-consuming to collect again.

Overall, quantitative research methods are useful when the researcher wants to test hypotheses, examine relationships between variables, or make generalizations about a population.

Produced by Sage Research Methods

Qualitative research is a methodological approach to collecting and analyzing non-numerical data in order to understand the subjective experiences and perspectives of participants. Here are some of the most common qualitative research methods:

1. Interviews involve a researcher asking open-ended questions to participants in order to elicit in-depth responses about their experiences, beliefs, and attitudes. Interviews can be conducted one-on-one, in small groups, or in focus groups.

2. Observation occurs when a researcher is observing and documenting behavior and interactions in a natural setting. This method can be useful for studying social phenomena, such as group dynamics or cultural practices.  **Note** - Observational studies can fall under both quantitative AND qualitative methods.  In the qualitative sense, the researcher is concerned with understanding the quality of actions or responses rather than the numbers.

3. Case studies provide an in-depth analysis of a single individual, group, or event. This method can be useful for understanding complex phenomena in detail and generating hypotheses for further research.

4. Content analysis requires analysis of the content of written or recorded materials, such as transcripts, photographs, or videos. Researchers may use content analysis to identify themes, patterns, or meanings in the data. **Note** - Content analysis can serve as both a quantitative method AND a Qualitative method.  In the qualitative sense, the researcher is more concerned with interpreting and understanding the data.

5. Ethnography involves an immersive, long-term study of a particular group or culture. This method can be useful for understanding the cultural practices, values, and beliefs of a group of people.

Overall, qualitative research methods are useful when the researcher wants to explore complex phenomena, understand the perspectives of participants, or generate new theories or hypotheses. Qualitative research can provide rich, in-depth insights into human experiences and can be particularly useful for addressing research questions that cannot be answered through quantitative methods alone.

Produced by Sage Research Methods

Mixed methods research is an approach to research that combines both quantitative and qualitative methods. By using both types of methods, mixed methods research aims to provide a more comprehensive understanding of a research question or problem. Mixed methods research can take many different forms, but typically involves collecting both numerical and non-numerical data, analyzing both types of data separately, and then integrating the findings in a meaningful way.

For example, a researcher conducting a mixed methods study might begin by collecting quantitative data through a survey or experiment. They could then use qualitative methods, such as interviews or focus groups, to explore the underlying reasons for the quantitative findings. The researcher would then integrate the quantitative and qualitative findings to develop a more complete understanding of the research question.

This research methodology is particularly useful for addressing research questions that are complex and multifaceted, as well as for validating findings from one type of method with another. It can also help to overcome the limitations of each individual method by combining their strengths. It should be noted, however, that mixed methods research can also be more time-consuming and resource-intensive than using a single method. It requires a researcher to have expertise in both quantitative and qualitative methods and to carefully consider how the methods will be integrated throughout the research process. 

Produced by Sage Research Methods

APA (American Psychological Association) is the most common citation style in the social sciences. This online citation guide contains resources regarding citing, writing, and formatting papers in APA style.

Tutorials

• Basics of APA Style Tutorial

  This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.

• Purdue Online Writing Lab

  The Purdue University's online resource for citing, writing, and formatting papers in APA Style.

• Purdue Online Writing Lab - Citing Electronic Sources in APA

  Content specific to citing all electronic resources in APA style.​

Airplane Manufacturers

Airbus
Boeing Company
Cirrus Aircraft
Cessna Aircraft Company
Embraer
Mooney Airplane Company
Piper Aircraft

Flight Planning

FltPlan
AOPA Flight Plan
AC-U-KWIK
AirNav
CSC DUATS

Regulatory and other government agencies:

CAAC (Civil Aviation Authority China)
Eurocontrol (European ATC)
FAA (Federal Aviation Administration)
NTSB (National Transportation Safety Board)
NWS (National Weather Service)

National and Other Organizations

AABI (Aviation Accreditation Board International)
ACI (Airports Council International)
AIAA (American INstitute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
ALPA (Air Line Pilots Association)
AOPA (Aircraft Owner Pilot Association)
ASI (AOPA's Air Safety Institute)
CJP (Citation Jet Pilots)
EAA (Experimental Aircraft Association)
IAC (International Aerobatic Club)
IATA (International Air Transport Association)
ICAO (International Civil Aviation Organization)
NAFI (National Association of Flight Instructors)
UAA (University Aviation Association)
VAI (Vertical Aviation International)
WAI (Women in Aviation International)

Staying Informed! As you pursue your Master's Degree, it is essential that you stay informed on the latest research and developments in your field.  Remember that you are not a mere consumer of information, but rather a contributor of knowledge in your field of study.  In order to remain an active participant in the conversation, you must remain engaged in the latest news and research.

This page provides the latest articles from some of the top publications in Aerospace Systems and Materials, Machine Learning and Autonomous Systems, Cybernetics and Cyber Defense Systems as well as Electronic Engineering and Systems Management.  All articles are distributed through RSS.  This page will update as new articles are added to the respective journals.

All RSS Links on this page will open in a new tab.

TAAS aims to publish papers that provably advance the state of the art, or that provide new insights and knowledge into specific issues related to autonomous and adaptive systems. Here you will find some of the latest and best articles on Machine Learning and Autonomous Systems research.

IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems focuses on the organization, design, development, integration, and operation of complex systems for space, air, ocean, or ground environment.  These systems include, but are not limited to, navigation, avionics, spacecraft, aerospace power, radar, sonar, telemetry, defense, transportation, automated testing, and command and control.

EEE Transactions on Cybernetics includes computational approaches to the field of Cybernetics. This journal publishes papers on communication and control across machines or machine, human, and organizations. The scope includes such areas as computational intelligence, computer vision, neural networks, genetic algorithms, machine learning, fuzzy systems, cognitive systems, decision making, and robotics, to the extent that they contribute to the theme of cybernetics or demonstrate an application of cybernetics principles.