Sociology

A subject guide to help with beginning research in the field of Sociology.

Library Research Guide

For additional information on finding news sources, visit the Newspapers in Print and Online research guide.

ProQuest Multi-Database Search
Paid for by K-State Libraries
This search interface allows you to search nearly all of the ProQuest databases subscribed to by K-State Libraries.
ProQuest Central
Paid for by K-State Libraries
ProQuest Central brings together many of the most used ProQuest databases. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas (business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion). It includes full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. With our Ebook Central subscription (especially access to Academic Complete and Academic Video Online) users can now search in a comprehensive way that connects text and video.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Publication Dates Covered: 1960 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Features newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic and minority presses.

Newspapers.com
Publication Dates covered: 1700s-2000s Paid for by K-State Libraries
Newspapers.com is powered by Ancestry.com. It is an extensive database with online access to nearly 198,000,000 pages of historical newspapers dating from the 1700s to the 2000s. This resource includes searchable full-text access for millions of pages of well-known regional and local newspapers in the U.S. and other countries and receives regular, ongoing updates to new content.
African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998
Publication Dates Covered: 1827-1998 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Covers African American experiences before the Civil War through the Civil Rights Movement, and up to the end of the 20th century. Includes more than 270 newspapers (published by or for African Americans) from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles, and provides access to both full-text and images.