- Library Home
- Research Guides
- ENGL 516 - Written Communication for the Sciences
- Accessing Full-Text
ENGL 516 - Written Communication for the Sciences
Library Research Guide
or "Get it at K-State" to access or request the full text of articles.Tips for Getting Full-Text Articles
- Install LibKey Nomad browser extensionLibKey Nomad is a browser extension that links you to resources in K-State Libraries collection.
- Download the extension for your browser from the link above.
- Once downloaded, select Kansas State University as your organization.
- Install Unpaywall browser extensionUnpaywall finds open access content from open access journals, institutional repositories, and disciplinary repositories.
- Download the extension for your browser from the link above.
- When you see the green tab beside a research article, click it to read the full text.
- Let Google Scholar know you're at K-StateGoogle Scholar is a search engine for scholarly literature. It crawls publishers' websites so you're likely to encounter paywalls for resources that K-State Libraries subscribes to. Follow the instructions linked above to identify yourself as a K-State user in Google Scholar's settings to get links to articles for free through the library.
Find the full-text of an article though K-State Libraries
Have a citation, but aren't sure how to find the full-text?
- Use the Libraries Search It tool to search by DOI or article title.
- Use Google Scholar to search for DOI or article title. Be sure to identify yourself as a K-State user.
- Still not sure if the full-text article is available, chat with a librarian.
Full-text article not available through the library? Request a copy through interlibrary loan.
- Request articles through interlibrary loanIf the full-text of an article isn't available in a K-State subscription, place an interlibrary loan request. Most requests are filled in a day, and this service is free for K-State users.
Proxy Bookmarklet
A proxied link provides access to licensed (subscribed) library resources from off-campus by prompting users for their eID and password. A bookmarklet is a browser bookmark with computer code. This bookmarklet adds K-State's proxy address - er.lib.k-state.edu to the current URL.
If you access articles off-campus or share articles with off-campus K-State colleagues and students, install the proxy bookmarklet on your browser's bookmarks toolbar. Whenever you are on a site that requires K-State access, click on the bookmarklet. You will be asked to login, and then redirected to the proxied version of the site.
Installation instructions
To use a bookmarklet, make sure your browser is configured to:
- allow pop-up windows
- accept third-party cookies
- enable javascript
Also make sure your bookmarks or favorites bar is visible:
- Firefox: "Alt" will display the menu bar. Select "View > Toolbars > Bookmarks Toolbar"
- Chrome: Ctrl + Shift + B will show or hide the bookmarks bar
- Safari: On the menu bar, select "View > Bookmarks Bar
- Microsoft Edge: Select "Settings > ... (more)" and toggle the switch to "Show the favorites bar"
Drag or right-click and add this link to your browser's favorites or bookmarks:
