Databases are searchable online collections of articles, books, reports and other materials. You will find some of their information using Search It, but there are very useful databases that are not included in its search. Searching individual databases can also help you find subject terms and use subject-specific limits.
Kansas State University Databases
To pick a database from the Libraries' databases list, use the subject drop-down box and the database descriptions to help decide which ones have the best information for your topic.
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that not everything found there is truly scholarly, so evaluate carefully. Look for the text “Get It @ KSU” instead of the usual Get It button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It is sometimes found under the “more” link below the record.
Suggested Databases for Agriculture
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)
Contains citations from the National Agricultural Library. Around 2,500 journals are indexed as well as USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, conference proceedings, books, theses, and audio-visual materials. All aspects of agriculture are covered.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Web of Science(includes all databases)
Allows you to simultaneously search resources including CAB Abstracts (Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience), Global Health, Food Science and Technology Abstracts, Medline, and the Web of Science Core Collection.
Suggested Databases for Journalism and Communication
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher Plus Archive
Single-themed reports on current issues from Congressional Quarterly Press dating back to 1923. Topics include social trends, health concerns, the economy, education, and technology. Reports provide overview, background, pro/con arguments, chronologies, current situation, and bibliographies of additional sources.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to content from more than 600 communication and mass media journals. It includes a Communication Thesaurus.
Government Resources and Web Pages
The federal government and many state and local governments provide access to useful resources. Here are a few:
Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
Census of Agriculture
The leading source of facts and figures about American agriculture. Conducted every five years, the Census provides a detailed picture of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. Its data covers every state and county in the United States.
K-State Research and Extension
Links to the different resources, programs, and data offered and collected by the Research and Extension office in topics such as community development, crops and livestock, business and economics, the environment, youth development, health and nutrition, home and family, and lawn and garden.