Databases are incredible resources! While you're at K-State, you have access to literally millions of dollars worth of databases and their contents. Scholarly journal articles, ebooks, dissertations - the list goes on and on! Even after you graduate, there are still some great databases available to you. Below, we've listed several databases containing resources related to Family Studies and Human Services. You can access most of these databases through the K-State Libraries Databases page, but don't limit yourself to these resources only.
AgeLine is a source of information on theories of aging, Social Security, Medicare/Medicaid, marketing to older adults, elder care, Alzheimers, health care costs and policy, financial and retirement planning, fitness, nutrition, and more.
Health and Wellness (Gale)
Medicine, health, and alternative medicine topics are covered. Provides access to medical journal and magazine articles, a medical encyclopedia, and dictionary. Directories of medical organizations and drugs are provided along with a health assessment tool.
Health Reference Center
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Indexes leading nursing journals as well as dissertations covering nursing topics. Like most ProQuest databases, this one uses tabs to make it easy to find peer-reviewed publications.
Produced by the American Psychological Association and contains citations and abstracts of the world’s literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related subjects.
Publication Dates Covered: 1950 - present Free Resource
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 21 million citations from Medline and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles.
The legacy version of PubMed was retired October 31, 2020.
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
A great place to go for scholarly, peer-reviewed article searches. It is only abstracts however - you will need to use the Get-It button to try and access the article.
Web of Science
Web of Science is composed of the three ISI Citation Databases, which collectively index more than 8,400 high quality, peer-review journals.
This is a combined catalog of several thousand libraries. As such, it is an excellent place to look for books to borrow through interlibrary services.