K-12 Resources

Information for teachers and students learning to become teachers.

Library Research Guide

Borrow Materials

Kansas residents may borrow materials with a Community Patron Library Card. You just need to be 18 or older.

Alumni may also borrow materials with a current K-State Alumni Association membership card.

Computer Access

Employees at the Library Help Desk on the 2nd floor can get you set up on a computer. There are computers on floors 1-4.

Printing

The printers work only with K-State ID cards, though limited printing is available to community members for free. Emailing or saving to a USB flash drive are the best ways to access your sources later.

Get Started with Search It

Watch this video for a brief introduction to the functions and features of Search It. Use Search It to look for books, articles, and much more! (2 minutes 13 seconds)

Transcript Introduction to Search It (PDF)
Transcript to make the video more accessible.

Newspaper Articles - On Campus Use

When on campus, the following databases can help you search for newspaper articles:

Historical New York Times
This is a great database for finding historical news articles.

Newspaper Source Plus
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos, and podcasts from around the world.
ProQuest Global Newsstream
Publication Dates Covered: 1980 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Includes ProQuest's Canadian Newsstream, International Newsstream, and US Newstream collections.

Suggested Databases - On Campus Use

When on campus, the following databases cover a wide variety of subjects and can help you find articles on many different topics:

CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Researcher Plus Archive
Written by experienced journalists, articles are unbiased and cover major public issues. Try the Pro/Con section to see debates about a particular topic.

ProQuest Research Library
A great place to start for many topics, it's also user-friendly and many of the articles are full-text.
Diversity Database Suite
Provides newspaper, magazine, and journal articles that cover the topics of gender, race, and ethnicity.
Google Scholar
A tremendous amount of content exists in this database. If you don't see a link to a full-text article, try clicking on the Get It button. This service will check all of our electronic subscriptions to see if we own an electronic copy of your article.

Borrow Materials

Kansas residents may borrow materials with a Community Patron Library Card. You just need to be 18 or older.

Alumni may also borrow materials with a current K-State Alumni Association membership card.

Computer Access

Employees at the Library Help Desk on the 2nd floor can get you set up on a computer. There are computers on floors 1-4.