Civil Engineering Databases
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Library
Publication Dates Covered: 1990 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This resource provides unprecedented access to more than 33,000 full-text papers from the American Society of Civil Engineers’ journals and conference proceedings. All proceedings articles require using Interlibrary Services to obtain the full-text document.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Paid for by K-State Libraries
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Publication Dates Covered: North America 1666 - present; world 1933 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Covers the world’s technical literature on geology and geophysics from 13,000 serials, U.S. Geological Survey publications, and dissertations. Corresponds to the print publications Bibliography and Index of Geology, Bibliography and Index of Geology Exclusive of North America, Bibliography and Index of North American Geology, and Geophysical Abstracts.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains over 2000 digital versions of books in scientific and engineering fields. Browse by subject or title, or search across part or all of the collection by keyword.
Web of Science Core Collection
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. Be sure all indexes are selected in the "Editions" pull-down menu above the search boxes. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
ProQuest Research Library
Publication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global Publication Dates Covered: 1861 - present; full text varies by school Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes full text for many dissertations written after 1996, including some master’s theses. Copies of dissertations not available in full text in this database may be requested via interlibrary loan
and/or purchased as microfilm or as unbound copies from UMI
. You can limit the search to K-State dissertations only
Dissertations – K-State Research Exchange (K-REx)
Publication Dates Covered: 2004 - present Free Resource
Full text of theses, dissertations, and reports submitted by K-State graduate students. Papers are typically available by the end of the semester in which the student graduated. Full coverage begins in Fall 2006 for doctoral dissertations and Fall 2007 for masters papers. Limited availability before 2006.
Current Awareness Tools
MyTools in the ASCE Library
Saved search alerts can be generated after you create a login. Follow the steps on the link.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Create a personal login. Run a search with the terms you want to use for an alert. An icon labeled Create alert is available as a link in these locations: 1-Below the search box at the top of any search results list, and 2-With any search included in your recent or saved searches lists in My Research.
Web of Science
Create ID and log into My Citation Alerts