Data Management

The basics of data management and Resources for researchers

Library Research Guide

Looking for Metadata Standards?

Disciplinary Metadata good metadata is essential for research data access and re-use, figuring out precisely what metadata to capture and how to capture it can be difficult. This resource from the DCC is a good place to start

Data Repositories

re3data.org
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
Repository List by Subject
part of the Open Access Directory

Free Excel Add-on

Add-ons are tools that work within Microsoft Excel to help document your data as you go. A 2016 article reports that Excel may be responsible for errors in reported data. Please be alert when using new or updated products for data management.

Colectica for Excel
Build metadata as you create fields in Excel

Current Data Related Mandates

Looking for the current list of what each grant is requiring? Check out this site for a summary of each federal agency's Open Access requirements; including a timeframe for completion.

Intellectual Property Rights

Do you know who owns your data? What your rights are in regards to it? K-State's Policy and Procedures Manual provides guidance on this issue.

(Chapter 7095, .050 Copyrights, Section C.4.)

K-State Resources

Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
Promotes and facilitates the research, education, and outreach missions of Kansas State University. Supporting and administering all activities involving extramurally sponsored programs. Provides a wealth of services to researchers.
Research Policies at K-State
The regulations, policies, statutes, and guidelines that govern the conduct of University sanctioned research.
Beocat
K-State's High Performance Computing Cluster. Access to Beocat is free for researchers on the K-State campus on an as-available, first-come first-served basis
Geographic Information Systems Spatial Analysis Laboratory
GISSAL offers a modern computing infrastructure, access to state-of-the-art data visualization tools, and the most powerful GIS, satellite remote sensing, digital mapping, database, and statistical analysis software packages. Although primarily a research facility, GISSAL also offers contract services including GIS database design and construction, digital cartographic support and production, web-servable maps, distributed geographic information services, and customized GIS workshops and software training.
Statistics Consulting Lab
Provides help to all K-State faculty, staff, graduate students and undergraduates who are doing research.
K-State Research Exchange (K-REx)
The institutional repository for Kansas State University. Collects and preserves the creative and scholarly works of the K-State community. K-REx can also be used to make research datasets under 1 GB available to the public.

Planning Tools

Data Management Plan Templates

Data Management Plan Checklists

Looking for Metadata Standards?

Data Repositories

re3data.org
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
Repository List by Subject
part of the Open Access Directory

Free Excel Add-on

Colectica for Excel
Build metadata as you create fields in Excel