Web of Science Core Collection
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. Be sure all indexes are selected in the "Editions" pull-down menu above the search boxes. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
Publication Dates Covered:1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The most thorough and extensive source in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. Other databases available are VetMed Resource, CABI Full Text, Distribution Maps Plant Diseases, CAB ebooks Archive (2008-2010), and Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC). Each database is available through the above CAB Direct link or an individual link found under the corresponding first letter. Over 13 million records are available in CAB Direct.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural Online Access)
Publication Dates Covered: 1970 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains citations from the National Agricultural Library. Around 2,500 journals are indexed as well as USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, conference proceedings, books, theses, and audio-visual materials. All aspects of agriculture are covered.
Search It helps you discover and obtain articles, books, ebooks, music, reports, videos, and many others types of sources. It enables simultaneous searching of information about K-State Libraries' physical and online collections and about articles and other sources from hundreds of databases, journal publishers, and organizations. As such it is an invaluable research tool for novices and experts alike. This guide will teach you how to use Search It to find information and resources.
More Agronomy databases
Discover additional agronomy databases.
Even more databases on almost any topic
K-State Libraries subscribes to over 300 databases so if you don't find what you need in the suggested databases there are many other options.
Database searching tips
The databases provide electronic access to articles, book chapters, reports, etc., that have been compiled and cataloged by a reputable organization. K-State Libraries pay to subscribe to the databases because the information found there is generally not freely available on the Internet. Databases are global in scope and content.
- Keywords: Before you begin searching, break your topic into key concepts; think about the terminology/keywords you wish to search for and possible synonyms. Experiment with synonymous terms that also describe your topic. You may find it helpful to refer to a thesaurus.
- Advanced Search: The "Guided Search" or "Advanced Search" options include additional search boxes which will lend some flexibility to your queries and allow you to use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT).
- AND = Both concepts must be present, helps limit the number of search results (Ex. stormwater AND management)
- OR = Great for synonyms, helps broaden the search while staying within the subject area (Ex. "universal design" OR "inclusive design")
- NOT = Exclude an unrelated term, or to weed out irrelevant results (Ex. Apple NOT fruit)
- Subject Headings: Look for "Subject Headings," "Subjects," "Keywords" or "Descriptors" to help narrow your search. These terms or tags group topics by category. Databases may use different terms to describe your topic; therefore, construct your search using each database's language/terminology.
- Truncation: Use a truncation symbol (*) at the end of a word or word stem. This broadens your search but stays on topic. For example, teen* searches for teen, teens, teenager, teenagers, etc.
- Wildcard: Use a wildcard symbol (?) to search variant spelling or tenses: wom?n searches for women or woman; behavio?r searches for behavior and behaviour.
- Help: Look for the Help link in the database.
No full text available? Click the Power Cat symbol or the "Get It" button (logo appearance depends on the database you're searching). The Get It button searches for the full text article when it is unavailable in the database you're currently searching.
If the article is not available electronically, you will be connected to Interlibrary Services where you may make a request for the article. Interlibrary Services borrows articles, books, and other media that K-State Libraries does not own and notifies you by email when your request is available.