Web of Science Databases
Web of Science Core Collection
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. Be sure all indexes are selected in the "Editions" pull-down menu above the search boxes. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
Publication Dates Covered:1920 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
The most thorough and extensive source in the applied life sciences, incorporating the leading bibliographic databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health. Other databases available are VetMed Resource, CABI Full Text, Distribution Maps Plant Diseases, CAB ebooks Archive (2008-2010), and Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC). Each database is available through the above CAB Direct link or an individual link found under the corresponding first letter. Over 13 million records are available in CAB Direct.
Publication Dates Covered: 1950 - present Free Resource
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 21 million citations from Medline and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles.
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. It does not contain full text articles, but users can get access to full text by using the Get It button.
Publication Dates Covered: 1830 - present Simultaneous users: 4 Paid for by K-State Libraries
An international database for sports, sports medicine, physical fitness, physical education, physiology, and medicine. Also provides indexing of the Microform Publications collection of dissertations and theses of the International Institute for Sport and Human Performance.
Search many library databases and the library catalog at once.
Even more databases on almost any topic
K-State Libraries subscribes to over 200 databases so if you don't find what you need in the suggested databases there are many other options.
Searching Tips for Databases
Searching these resources is different from searching the Internet. K-State Libraries pays to subscribe to the databases; they are not found in an online search. Their content is collected and maintained by various companies and organizations.
- Keywords: Before you begin, break your topic into key concepts; think about the terminology/keywords you wish to search for and possible synonyms.
- Advanced Search: Look for the "Guided Search" or "Advanced Search" options so that you have more search boxes.
- AND = both concepts must be present, helps limit the search (Ex. stormwater AND management)
- OR = great for synonyms (Ex. "universal design" OR "inclusive design")
- NOT = exclude an unrelated term (Ex. "nigel coates" NOT "book review")
- Subject Headings: Look for "Subject Headings," "Subjects," "Keywords" or "Descriptors" to help narrow your search. Different databases may recognize different terms. As you find these tags, construct your search using the language/terminology of that database.
- GET IT: No full text available? Click on the "GET IT" button to search for the article in our database subscriptions. If it's not there, it will look for a print copy available on campus or through Interlibrary Loan.
- Truncation: Use "truncation" (an asterisk at end of word stem): teen* searches for "teen", "teens", "teenager", "teenagers", etc. by adding all possible endings.
- Wildcard: Use "wildcard" (a quotation mark inside a word): wom?n searches for "women" or "woman".
- Help: When you're in a database, look for its “Help” section.