Check our continuation of services webpage for updates related to COVID-19.

BIOL 551 - Taxonomy of Vascular Plants

Library resources to help BIOL 551 students with their species accounts project.

Library Research Guide

Search It

What is Search It?

Search It is a discovery tool that covers the K-State Libraries physical resources (e.g., books, videos, periodicals) as well as millions of online resources.

How do you access Search It?

We recommend that you use Search It's advanced search. A link is provided on the Libraries' home page.

Advanced Search button on library homepage

 

Searching for sources about a particular species:

  • Use the top row to enter the species' name inside quotation marks. Also, enter any common names and use capital OR to link them e.g., "helianthus annuus" OR "common sunflower"

screenshot of advanced search screen in Search It

  • To find books, click the show more link under the resource type facet on the left side of the screen

Search It's refine my results menu

  • Then click the Include box for books and click Continue

Screenshot of Search It's Refine Search menu

 

Searching for flora:

  • In the top row type flora* and change  drop-down to in the title. In the second row, type plant* OR botan* and change the drop-down to in subject. Use the third row for key terms describing the region of interest. For example, if you were interested in Kansas, type midwest* OR kansas OR plains. 

Search It's advanced Search screen showing a search for flora* in the title, plant* OR botan* in the subject and midwest OR kansas OR plains anywhere

 

Searching for sources discussing morphology, taxonomy, classification or anatomy of plants:

  • In the top row type morphol* OR taxon* OR anatom* OR classif*  and change the drop-down to in subject. In the second row, type plant* OR botan* and change the drop-down to in subject. Use the third row for key terms describing the region of interest. For example, if you were interested in Kansas, type midwest* OR kansas OR plains.

search it advanced search for mophol* OR taxon* OR anatom* OR classif* in subject AND plant* OR botan* in subject AND midwest OR kansas OR plains anywhere

 

Accessing Online Resources in Search It

When a resource is available online through Search It, below the title of the resource there will be a notice, Available Online.

Search It result for an item that is available online

To access the resource, click the book, then on the detail page in the View It section, there will be one or more links labeled Get Full Text Here. When you click a provided link, one of the following will happen:

  • You may be asked to login with your eID and password to access the resource.
  • The resource may load in the tab.
  • The resource may load in a new window.
  • A menu of options for accessing the resource may appear.

Accessing Physical Resources Other than Articles and Book Chapters

When a physical resource is owned by K-State Libraries and is not currently checked out, below the title of the resource there will be a green label Located at, followed by the library location and call number. In the Find it at the Library section, see more information such as how many  copies are available.

  • Due to the Hale Library fire, many items are unavailable. Weigel Architecture Library in 0081 Regnier Hall may have some relevant materials because they support the landscape architecture program.
  • K-State students, faculty, and staff may use Interlibrary Loan to obtain materials from other libraries.

When a physical resource is owned by K-State Libraries but is currently unavailable due to the fire. Click the the green Located at link to see options for requesting the resource.

The Located at link will provide access to K-State Libraries' Interlibrary Loan Service. If you are a current K-State student or employee, you can use that service to request the item.

Google Books

Google Books allows you to search the full-text of millions of books. Since you are searching the full-text, you can be very specific. 

Tips for searching in Google Books:

  • Specify phrases using quotation marks
  • Use OR to broaden a search
  • To specify that a word or phrase should appear in the title of the book, type intitle: directly in front of the word or phrase. For example, intitle:sunflowers
  • Add subject:botany if your results do not seem relevant

Examples:

screenshot of Google Books showing a search for flora OR floras intitle:plains

screenshot of Google Books showing a search for petal shape subject:botany

 

Viewing Google Books
The amount of the text you will be able to see varies from book to book. Some books are viewable in their entirety for free. Some only have free previews (about 20% of the book), some only have snippets, and some have no visible content.

You can filter by visibility. To do so, click the Search Tools button, then click Any books.

screenshot from Google Books showing how to narrow to free books

 

WorldCat

If you are willing to use our Interlibrary Loan service (which you should be as it is free), then chances are good that you could get your hands on any book that is not extremely rare. WorldCat is a great database to use to discover what books are theoretically available.

Navigating to WorldCat:

1. Go to the the libraries' home page.

2. Click the Databases link in the top-center box.

3. Click the letter W (since it is the first letter of WorldCat)

screenshot of the libraries' databases directory showing the link to a list of databases starting with the letter w

4. Scroll down and click the name WorldCat

screenshot of the worldcat entry in the databases directory

 

Searching WorldCat for sources about a particular  species:

1. Click Advanced Search.

screenshot of Worldcat's home screen showing the location of the advanced search link

 

2. If you are looking for sources about a particular species, use the top row to enter the genus and any single word common names for the species. Place an asterisk at the stem of each term. Link terms with OR.  For example, if your species is helianthus annuus, the common sunflower, you would enter the following:

screenshot of Worldcat's advanced search screen showing a keyword search for helianthus* OR sunflower*

 

3.  Click the Search button at the bottom of the screen and examine your results. If you obtained a large number of results, click the Searching tab at the top of the screen and use the second row to enter the species name and any specific words used as names for that species. Place an asterisk after each term. Link terms with OR. For example, for the common sunflower, we would enter the following:

 

screenshot of worldcat's advanced search screen showing a search for helianthus* OR sunflower AND annuus* OR common*

 

Searching WorldCat for flora:

1. Use the advanced search screen (see step 1 above).

2. In the top row type flora* and change the drop-down to Title. In the second row, type plant* OR botan* and change the right drop-down to Subject. Use the third row for key terms describing the region of interest. For example, if you were interested in Kansas, type midwest* OR kansas OR plains. 

screenshot of worldcat's advanced search screen showing a search for items with flora* in the title, plant* OR botan* in the subject, and midwest* OR kansas OR plains as a keyword

 

Searching WorldCat for sources discussing morphology, taxonomy, classification or anatomy of plants:

1. Use the advanced search screen (see step 1 above).

2. In the top row type morphol* OR taxon* OR anatom* OR classif*  and change the drop-down to Subject. In the second row, type plant* OR botan* and change the drop-down to Subject. Use the third row for key terms describing the region of interest. For example, if you were interested in Kansas, type midwest* OR kansas OR plains.

screenshot of worldcat's advanced search screen showing a search for morphol* OR taxon* OR anatom* OR classif* as a subject AND plant* OR botan* as a subject AND midwest* OR kansas OR plains as a keyword

 

Finding Books:

  1. Search for book title in Search It to find the book's call number and location OR
  2. Make an interlibrary loan request for books not in K-State Libraries' collection.