The Biota of North America Program: North American Vascular Flora
Use its Taxonomic Data Center to find information about species, genera, or families. Its North American Plant Atlas provides maps at the state level and some at the county level.
Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.
Consortium of California Herbaria
A gateway to information from California vascular plant specimens that are housed in participant herbaria.
Provides information on the names, taxonomic relationships, continent-wide distributions, and morphological characteristics of all plants native and naturalized found in North America north of Mexico. Thus far 11 of the 30 planned volumes are available.
Contains data and images for millions of biological specimens.
The KU Botany Vascular Plant Collection
Contains nearly 50,000 images of specimens from Kansas. Use the advanced search option to narrow to results from Kansas.
The most comprehensive database of Oklahoma plant specimens currently available.
The PLANTS Database, from the USDA, provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
SERNEC - Southeast Regional Network of Expertise and Collections
Simultaneously search several collections of information about vascular plants.
The project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.
A database of botanical information, including nomenclatural, bibliographic, and specimen data.
An open-access, Web-based compendium of the world’s plant species.
