Reference sources are generally used to provide quick, factual information or explanation about a topic. They might include books like general encyclopedias or dictionaries, or ones that are more specific to a particular issue. Websites might also provide good information. Be sure to assess their validity!
These are just a few examples of reference sources that you can access in full text online from K-State Libraries' subscriptions. See the Books tab on the left side of this guide for information about how to search for additional items.
Introduction to Modern Feminist Theory by
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
An explication of the major contributions to feminist theory in the late Twentieth Century, covering Initial Articulations of the Woman Problem (Virginia Woolf; Simone de Beauvoir), Radical Feminism (Kate Millett; Shulamith Firestone; Radicalesbians; Ma"
Handbook of Feminist Research by
Publication Date: 2011-10-31
The second edition of the Handbook of Feminist Research: Theory and Praxis, presents both a theoretical and practical approach to conducting social science research on, for, and about women. The Handbook enables readers to develop an understanding of feminist research by introducing a range of feminist epistemologies, methodologies, and methods that have had a significant impact on feminist research practice and women′s studies scholarship. The Handbook continues to provide a set of clearly defined research concepts that are devoid of as much technical language as possible. It continues to engage readers with cutting edge debates in the field as well as the practical applications and issues for those whose research affects social policy and social change. It also expands on the wealth of interdisciplinary understanding of feminist research praxis that is grounded in a tight link between epistemology, methodology and method. The second edition of this Handbook will provide researchers with the tools for excavating subjugated knowledge on women′s lives and the lives of other marginalized groups with the goals of empowerment and social change.
A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory by
Publication Date: 2010-05-10
Now thoroughly updated and revised, this new edition of the highlyacclaimed dictionary provides an authoritative and accessible guideto modern ideas in the broad interdisciplinary fields of culturaland critical theory Updated to feature over 40 new entries including pieces onAlain Badiou, Ecocriticism, Comparative Racialization ,Ordinary Language Philosophy and Criticism, and GraphicNarrative Includes reflective, broad-ranging articles from leadingtheorists including Julia Kristeva, Stanley Cavell, and SimonCritchley Features a fully updated bibliography Wide-ranging content makes this an invaluable dictionary forstudents of a diverse range of disciplines
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
This illustrated encyclopedia examines the unique influence and contributions of women in every era of American history, from the colonial period to the present. It not only covers the issues that have had an impact on women, but also traces the influence of women's achievements on society as a whole. Divided into three chronologically arranged volumes, the set includes historical surveys and thematic essays on central issues and political changes affecting women's lives during each period. These are followed by A-Z entries on significant events and social movements, laws, court cases and more, as well as profiles of notable American women from all walks of life and all fields of endeavor. Primary sources and original documents are included throughout.
Women in Developing Countries by
Publication Date: 2011-07-22
This book provides a much-needed survey of the discrimination and violence against women in developing countries, and identifies the literature and resources available about this topic. * Supplies a chronology of significant events relevant to women in developing countries * Presents biographies of individuals who have advanced human rights for women, and others who play key policy or political roles * Provides a bibliography containing abstracts of selected books, handbooks, manuals, and films/DVDs that provide a wide perspective on major issues * Includes a glossary and basic subject index
Here are a few examples of reference sources that deal with a more focused topic.
The Palgrave Handbook of Gender and Healthcare by
Publication Date: 2016-01-09
An authoritative, state-of-the-art reference collection, bringing together international experts to examine the key issues and core debates related to gender and healthcare. A vital resource for a wide range of academics, researchers, practitioners and policymakers.
The Routledge Handbook of Discourse Analysis by
Publication Date: 2013-06-17
The Routledge Handbook of Discourse Analysis covers the major approaches to Discourse Analysis from Critical Discourse Analysis to Multimodal Discourse Analysis and their applications in key educational and institutional settings. The handbook is divided into six sections: Approaches to Discourse Analysis, Register and Genre, Developments in Spoken Discourse, Educational Applications, Institutional Applications and Identity, Culture and Discourse. The chapters are written by a wide range of contributors from around the world, each a leading researcher in their respective field. All chapters have been closely edited by James Paul Gee and Michael Handford. With a focus on the application of Discourse Analysis to real-life problems, the contributors introduce the reader to a topic, and analyse authentic data. The Routledge Handbook of Discourse Analysis is vital reading for linguistics students as well as students of communication and cultural studies, social psychology and anthropology.
The Literary Theory Handbook by
Publication Date: 2013-05-21
The Literary Theory Handbook introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, showing them how to perform literary analysis, and providing a greater understanding of the historical contexts for different theories. A new edition of this highly successful text, which includes updated and refined chapters, and new sections on contemporary theories Far reaching in its inclusion of a detailed history of theory and in-depth discussions of major theories and movements Four distinct perspectives on theory--historical, thematic, biographical, practical--are carefully intertwined, so that key concepts, terms and ideas are developed in different contexts and cross-referenced, in the text and in the index. Includes alphabetically-arranged biographies designed for quick reference, and sample readings to illustrate the practical application of theory
Handbook of Diversity in Feminist Psychology by
Publication Date: 2010
This handbook presents a multicultural approach to diversity in feminist psychology. Provocative and timely, the text comprehensively discusses the cutting-edge of feminist discourse, covering major topics such as multicultural feminist theory, gender discrimination, aging, health and therapy, violence and harassment, politics and policy, and much more. The unique quality of this book is that each contributor brings her own cultural perspective, values, and concerns to her chapter. Special emphasis is also given to the intersectionality of minority identities such as race, ethnicity, social class, sexual preference, and other socially constructed status differences among women. Key topics discussed include: Intimate partner violence: perspectives from ethnic groups in the United States; Gender-transgressive sexual minorities; HIV/AIDS among women of color and sexual minority women; Psychological perspectives on older women, including transitions, cognitive functioning, and mental health; Ethnicity, disordered eating, and body image; Methodological and statistical issues in research with diverse samples; and Low-income women, women with disabilities, workers, and immigrants/refugees.
There are an almost unlimited number of websites where you can find useful reference information, including: statistical information, encyclopedia-type articles, and laws and policies. Below is a sampling of relevant sites.
Any time you use a website, you will want to assess its validity. Who created it? Where is the information from? How old is the information? Whose voices are represented?
There is more information about finding websites on the Political Information page in this guide.
Bibliographies in Gender and Women Studies
Curated by the Office of the Gender and Women's Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin. This collection of annotated bibliographies can help identify essential works.
If the full text of a bibliography is not online, you may request a copy from Gender and Women’s Studies Librarian’s Office.
The Little Data Book on Gender
This handy pocket guide is a quick reference for users interested in gender statistics. The book presents sex-disaggregated data for more than 200 economies in an easy country-by-country reference on demography, education, health, economic opportunities and political participation. The book’s summary pages cover regional and income group aggregates.
The World's Women 2020 Trends and Statistics
Created by the United Nations Statistics Division, The World’s Women 2020 comprises eight chapters covering critical areas of policy concern: population and families, health, education, work, power and decision-making, violence against women, environment, and poverty. In each area, a life-cycle approach is introduced to reveal the experiences of women and men during different periods of life—from childhood and the formative years, through the working and reproductive stages, to older ages.
Women's Rights (ACLU)
An overview of Women's Rights issues from the American Civil Liberties Union
Income and Poverty in the United States
This report presents data on income, earnings, income inequality, and poverty in the United States based on information collected in the 2019 and earlier Current Population Survey Annual Social and Economic Supplements (CPS ASEC) conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Even Wikipedia articles can be a quick place to get a good overview of a topic. Wikipedia is a good starting point because you can follow their links and sources to discover researchers, agencies, and organizations that produce relevant data, reports, and insight.
If you ever find that Wikipedia is the only place you can find information, Ask a Librarian for help.
LGBT Rights by Country or Territory (Wikipedia)
Rights affecting lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people vary greatly by country or jurisdiction – encompassing everything from the legal recognition of same-sex marriage to the death penalty for homosexuality. This is a compilation of those laws.
An overview of feminist history, theory, movements, etc.
Overview of the history, meaning, and use of the word "queer"
An overview of the historical background, key concepts, and practice of intersectionality