- Library Home
- Research Guides
- Modern Languages
- Dictionaries & Language Tutorials
Modern Languages
This guide provides resources for students and faculty conducting research in Modern Languages, including, but not limited to: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.
Library Research Guide
Language Tutorials
Need to practice a language? Try these tutorials.
- Mango Languages
This link opens in a new window
Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Access the language learning program with more than 60 foreign languages and 18 ESL courses. Includes sessions on vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and culture. Additional features include film-based learning, with subtitles and interactive guides to help improve language acquisition. Free individual accounts must be created for use. The accounts can be set up to easily track lessons and progress over time.
Language Dictionaries
Learning a language? Refer to these dictionaries when translating or writing.
Arabic
A Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic by Call Number: PJ6640 .W43 1994 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780879500030Publication Date: 1993Explains words and expressions from the present-day vocabulary of Arabic.
Chinese
Concise English-Chinese Chinese-English DictionaryCall Number: PL1455 .C66 1999 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780195911510Publication Date: 1999An ideal tool for study, the dictionary... provides authoritative coverage of over 26,000 words and phrases from every major field of reference, including science and technology, in addition to core general vocabulary. Simplified and orthodox Chinese characters are used throughout the dictionary, and thousands of examples illustrate and expand on how and when a word can be used.
A New English-Chinese Dictionary by Call Number: PL1455 .N3 1984 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780471808961Publication Date: 1985The largest English to Chinese dictionary ever produced in the People's Republic of China, with over 120,000 entries. All entry words and most derivatives are syllabicated and given popular international phonetic marks.
French
Oxford Colour French Dictionary Plus by Call Number: PC2640 .O77 2001 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780198645603Publication Date: 2001Over 100,000 words, phrases, and translations: extensive coverage.Special treatment of key words: frequently-used words, which are the building blocks to learning the language, are given a special layout and usage notes to help learners use with them correctly.
The Oxford-Hachette French Desk Dictionary by Call Number: PC2640 .O82 1996 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780198601494Publication Date: 1997Features complete language coverage, with over 80,000 words and phrases and 115,000 translations; words to suit both written and spoken French.
German
The Oxford-Duden German DictionaryCall Number: PF3640 .O94 1997 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780198601302Publication Date: 1997
A Practical Dictionary of German Usage by Call Number: PF3460 .B35 1996 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780198240020Publication Date: 1997The articles in this practical dictionary are much longer than those to be found in a bilingual dictionary, and the number of words treated is fewer, with a concentration on those which cause particular difficulties for speakers of English. Each article in the book starts by separating out the different meanings of an English word, and then explains the meaning and use of the German equivalents for each, with numerous examples
Greek
Greek-English Lexicon by
Call Number: PA445.E5 L6 1968 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780198642145Publication Date: 1968This is the ninth edition of what is universally regarded as the standard Greek-English lexicon.
Italian
Cassell's Italian Dictionary by Call Number: PC1640 .C33 2002 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780025225404Publication Date: 1994This dictionary is designed as a mirror of Italian life but includes obsolete words and phrases recurrent in the works of classic Italian writers for the benefit of readers and students of Italian literature.
Japanese
Basic English-Japanese Dictionary by Call Number: PL679 .M35 1999 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9784770024718Publication Date: 1999Containing 18000 words covering everyday vocabulary and core professional terms, this text approaches the Japanese language from the point of view of a beginner student who may be unfamiliar with the conventions of a standard bilingual dictionary. All Japanese words are presented in kana, kanji (where appropriate) and romanized Japanese.
The Compact Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary by Call Number: PL679 .H354 1999 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780804820370Publication Date: 1999An invaluable guide for learning Japanese, this book has the following features: 3,068 main character entries and more than 30,000 character compounds--all the characters and compounds needed for everyday use. The Universal Radical Index (URI) which permits the user to look up a character based not only on the main radical, but any radical found in the character. This is the most thorough and reliable index for novice users.
Latin
Oxford Latin Dictionary by Call Number: PA2365.E5 O9 1982 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 9780198642244Publication Date: 1983Comprehensive coverage of classical Latin with entries for approximately 40,000 words. Based on a collection of over one million quotations that illustrate the meaning and use of Latin words from the earliest known instance. Definitions are in modern English and based on modern lexicographical principles.
Spanish
Diccionario de la Lengua Española by Call Number: PC4625 .A3 1992b -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 8423943992Publication Date: 1992An academic level Spanish-language dictionary. (Please note, this is not a English-Spanish dictionary.)
Online version
Lema : Diccionario de la Lengua EspañolaCall Number: PC4625 .L36 2001 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 8483322137Publication Date: 2001Contemporary Spanish dictionary with an emphasis on the language used in Spain.
Vox Compact Spanish-English Dictionary by Call Number: PC4640 .V69 1984 -- Item not available due to fire. Request via Interlibrary LoanISBN: 0844279978Publication Date: 2005
- English - Spanish Dictionary -- Granada University, SpainTranslate from English to Spanish or Spanish to English. Includes use of terms in sentences. Uses British English.
