- Library Home
- Research Guides
- Modern Languages
- Linguistics & Language Acquisition
Modern Languages
This guide provides resources for students and faculty conducting research in Modern Languages, including, but not limited to: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Russian, and Spanish.
Library Research Guide
Databases
When researching linguistics and language acquisition, these databases are the best starting points.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsPublication Dates Covered: 1973 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. All aspects of the study of language are covered, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Subject coverage includes anthropological linguistics, applied and descriptive linguistics, hearing and speech physiology, learning disabilities, communication behavior, philosophy of language, semiotics, special education, writing systems, and more. - Education Full TextPublication Dates Covered: Indexing 1983 - present; full text 1996 - present Simultaneous users: 8 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education. Contains some publications not covered in ERIC. - ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)Publication Dates Covered: 1966 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Non-K-Staters: use this link
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books on education-related topics. Links to some full-text articles. ERIC also has an excellent thesaurus.
- Modern Languages databasesCan't find what you need? See all of our modern languages databases.
Research Texts
These guides will help you enter the scholarly conversation about linguistics and language aquisition.
History of the Language Sciences / Geschichte der Sprachwissenschaften / Histoire des Sciences du Langage, 1. Teilband by
Writing in English, German, or French, more than 300 authors provide a historical description of the beginnings and of the early and subsequent development of thinking about language and languages within the relevant historical context.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9783110194005Publication Date: 2008
Language Teaching Research and Language Pedagogy by
This book examines current research centered on the second language classroom and the implications of this research for both the teaching and learning of foreign languages.
Also available online
Call Number: P118.2 .E38 2012ISBN: 9781118271667Publication Date: 2012
Exploring Language Pedagogy Through Second Language Acquisition Research by
The book takes problematic issues in language pedagogy as its starting points. These are then examined in terms of second language acquisition. Each chapter begins with a look at the pedagogical proposals found in teacher guides and then asks, "Do these proposals accord with what we know about how languages are acquired?"
Call Number: P118.2 .E967 2014ISBN: 9780415519700Publication Date: 2013
Language Testing and Assessment by
Language Testing and Assessment: introduces students to the key methods and debates surrounding language testing and assessment explores the testing of linguistic competence of children, students, asylum seekers and many others in context of the uses to which such research can be put presents influential and seminal readings in testing and assessment.
Call Number: P53.4 .F85 2007ISBN: 9780415339476Publication Date: 2007
