Sage Research Methods Database
SAGE Research Methods
Paid for by K-State Libraries
SAGE Research Methods helps users create research projects and understand the methods behind them. It includes over 600 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and the “Little Green Book” and “Little Blue Book” series. Journal articles and videos are also included.
Books on Research Methods
Sometimes books and special issues of journals can be good places to learn about research methods in your field. Below are examples of ebooks available through K-State Libraries.
The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods by
Publication Date: 2011-08-09
This 42 chapter volume represents the state of the art in visual research. It provides an introduction to the field for a variety of visual researchers: scholars and graduate students in art, sociology, anthropology, communication, education, cultural studies, women's studies, ethnic studies, global studies and related social science and humanities disciplines. The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods encompasses the breadth and depth of the field, and points the way to future research possibilities. It illustrates "cutting edge" as well as long-standing and recognized practices. This text is not only "about" research, it is also an example of the way that the visual can be incorporated in data collection and the presentation of research findings. Contributors to the book are from diverse backgrounds and include both established names in the field and rising stars. Chapters describe a methodology or analytical framework, its strengths and limitations, possible fields of application and practical guidelines on how to apply the method or technique.The Sage Handbook of Visual Research Methods is organized into seven main sections: I) Framing the Field of Visual ResearchII) Producing Visual Data and InsightIII) Participatory and Subject-Centered ApproachesIV) Analytical Frameworks and ApproachesV) Vizualization Technologies and PracticesVI) Moving Beyond the VisualVII) Options and Issues for Using and Presenting Visual Research
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis by
Publication Date: 2013-12-27
The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA; from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data. The handbook includes chapters on traditional analytic strategies such as grounded theory, content analysis, hermeneutics, phenomenology and narrative analysis, as well as coverage of newer trends like mixed methods, reanalysis and meta-analysis. Practical aspects such as sampling, transcription, working collaboratively, writing and implementation are given close attention, as are theory and theorization, reflexivity, and ethics. Written by a team of experts in qualitative research from around the world, this handbook is an essential compendium for all qualitative researchers and students across the social sciences.
Social Research in the Age of Data by
Publication Date: 2017-04-15
The ability to gather data that can be crunched by machines is valuable for studying society. The new methods needed to work it require new skills and new ways of thinking about best research practices. This book reflects on the role and usefulness of big data, challenging overly optimistic expectations about what it can reveal, introducing practices and methods for its analysis and visualization, and raising important political and ethical questions regarding its collection, handling, and presentation.