Find Streaming Videos
The following resources are limited to current K-State students, faculty, and staff; require sign in with K-State eID and password
See our list of databases with videos. Some databases include videos, such as methodology videos for labs, other databases focus on documentary or popular films.
Request in Advance
Three of our databases require titles to be specifically requested: Kanopy, Swank, and Docuseek. Requests can take a few days to a few weeks to be processed. A longer time frame can occur with Swank due to volume of requests.
Once one instructor has requested the title it is available to all K-Staters.
Requesting Titles: Kanopy, Swank, and Docuseek
The K-State Libraries' subscriptions to Kanopy, Swank, and Docuseek are accessed from our Databases list.
Instructions for embedding videos in Canvas are provided on in the "Embedding in Canvas" section of this guide, specifically the box titled "Instructions & Tips."
Kanopy -- place your request from within Kanopy; when you click a title we do not currently have access to, a form appears to request access.
- Kanopy includes films from BBC, Criterion Collection, documentaries, and classic films.
- The individual films that K-State Libraries has subscribed to are listed when the website opens.
- Use the search feature to locate other films to request access.
- The Libraries do not have access to all titles in Kanopy. Each title has a subscription cost for one year of access. We have funds allocated for purchasing access to Kanopy titles. Once those funds are used up, we have to wait until the next year to request different titles.
Swank Digital Campus -- these titles are requested via the Reserves: Streamed Resources page.
- Swank is our primary provider of popular films
- The films that K-State Libraries has subscribed to appear when the website opens.
- Create and use the instructor login to search for films available to request. (The full catalog does not appear for students.)
- We have a limited number of films we can request on Swank, so may not be able to fill all requests.
- We have access to a requested title in Swank for one year. The expiration date appears on the film's streaming page. Look for "Licensed through xx xx, xxxx"
- Our contract with Swank allows us to access a fixed number of titles in a three year period. Once those titles are used, we have to wait to request different titles.
When showing films from Swank, please be aware that based upon our contract:
- Swank films may be viewed for individual study or within a classroom context
- Swank films may not be publicized events outside of an email to an enrolled class
Immediately Available Streaming Films
Films in our other databases can be watched right away. Some databases marked as including videos also include books, journal articles, and other materials.
See our complete list of databases with videos.
- Academic Video Online*-- over 66,000 videos/films across disciplines. Includes documentaries, interviews, newsreels, award-winning films, and more.
- JoVE - (journal of visualized experiments) -- access to materials published 2011 - present. Includes videos of detailed experiments in biology, bionengineering, immunology and infection, medicine, and neuroscience.
- March of Time* -- restored newsreels shown in movie theaters in the U.S. between 1935 and 1967.
*Academic Video Online and March of Time are two of six video databases that we subscribe to on the Alexander Street Press platform. When looking for instruction about using these databases, information may be listed under Alexander Street Press.
Watch Parties for Your Classes
Watch parties can be accomplished by embedding or linking to our videos in Canvas and scheduling a start time for the film. Everyone in the class will be starting and stopping the film for themselves. Thus far, we have not determined a way for the instructor to control playing the film for the whole class without violating copyright. (If you know of a way, please let us know!)
The discussion can take place using:
- Canvas' Discussion Board - this is limited to a text-based discussion, and is an option for asynchronous discussions
- Zoom - video/audio discussions
- Social media or group texting apps
Film Showings and Festivals (Outside a Class)
If you are showing a film outside the Canvas/classroom environment, please see our Film Showings and Festivals guidance.