Showing 1 Guides
Showing 8 Databases
Access the language learning program with more than 60 foreign languages and 18 ESL courses. Includes sessions on vocabulary, pronunciation, grammar, and culture. Additional features include film-based learning, with subtitles and interactive guides to help improve language acquisition. Free individual accounts must be created for use. The accounts can be set up to easily track lessons and progress over time.
Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Read It! supports reading comprehension skills for English-language learners, both students and adults. It is meant for users who have already learned basic English grammar and reading but need adapted reading material for a variety of subjects: history, civics and culture, science, math, literature and life skills. Includes helpful vocabulary and post-reading practice quizzes with answers. The core content design affirms existing proficiency and encourages reading comprehension progress.
Publication Dates Covered: 1975 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
A good place to start searching for almost any topic. It provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Britannica Academic is a comprehensive, authoritative reference tool, containing e-books, primary sources, full-text journal and magazine articles, World Atlas and World Data Analyst, Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, quotations, and full-text classics.
Publication Dates Covered: Indexing 1983 - present; full text 1996 - present Simultaneous users: 8 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education. Contains some publications not covered in ERIC.
Publication Dates Covered: 1966 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Non-K-Staters: use this link
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books on education-related topics. Links to some full-text articles. ERIC also has an excellent thesaurus.
Kansas residents not affiliated with K-State can use this link.
Learning Centers (elementary through college levels) plus computer skills, GED and new workplace skills training. The Job and Career Accelerator will identify strengths and weaknesses, help with resume writing, and even monitor postings on job boards. Includes preparation for GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and PPST/Praxis.
**To use this resource you must create an account.**
Paid for by K-State Libraries
ProQuest Central brings together many of the most used ProQuest databases. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas (business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion). It includes full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. With our Ebook Central subscription (especially access to Academic Complete and Academic Video Online) users can now search in a comprehensive way that connects text and video.
ELP Librarians
Librarian
222 Hale Library
ashstark@ksu.edu
Pronouns: she/her/hers
