Showing 16 Databases
Paid for by K-State Libraries
ProQuest Central brings together many of the most used ProQuest databases. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas (business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion). It includes full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. With our Ebook Central subscription (especially access to Academic Complete and Academic Video Online) users can now search in a comprehensive way that connects text and video.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
World's Global Style Network (WGSN) is the world’s leading fashion and style forecaster, providing daily access to images, graphics, forecasting, trend and market analysis, business resources, research on products, and branding. Broad topics covered include fashion, interiors and beauty. WGSN content may be printed but not downloaded.
This database contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. There are options to browse complete issues or search by garment type, designer, brand name, photographer and more.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Non-K-Staters: use this link
GreenFILE resources examine the connection between humans and the environment, from both positive and negative perspectives. 200 scholarly and general interest titles covering agriculture, education, law, health and technology are included.
Mintel Reports is a market research database that publishes 200+ business to consumer reports each year for US consumer markets. Each report focuses on consumer attitudes and behaviors, including survey data to understand demographic and psychographic segmentation. Also included are market size, brand share, social media analysis, and category trends.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
K-State Libraries subscribes to IBISWorld US Industry Reports and US Specialized Industry Reports. The US Industry reports module covers over 700 industries. Reports have statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants and more. The Specialized Industry Reports complement the Industry Reports module and can be useful when researching small or new industries.
Covers thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Publication Dates Covered: Indexing 1982 - present; abstracts 1994 - present; select full text 1997 - present Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Addresses “art” in the broadest sense including topics relevant to archaeology, architecture, art history, ceramics, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, landscape architecture, metalsmithing, photography, sculpture, textiles and more. Includes content from international arts journals, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Publication Dates Covered: 1975-2007 Free Resource
Provides citations and abstracts from 1975-2007 for articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs, focusing on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This multilingual database encompasses writings on the visual arts including traditional fine arts (ceramics, drawing, painting, prints, sculpture, etc.), architecture and industrial design, and decorative and applied arts (crafts, folk art, graphic arts, etc.). For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) database.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides information about books, serials, videos, and other items cataloged by libraries around the world, including K-State. Each of the more than 57 million records contains information regarding which libraries hold the item. Items not available through K-State Libraries can be requested via Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the Get It button.
Explore images and descriptions of thousands of pieces housed at the Historic Costume and Textile Museum, College of Health and Human Sciences, K-State's Manhattan campus. The collection of clothing and textiles spans centuries starting from the Byzantine Era to more recent designer collections. Available in the database are past and present exhibits with items being added as they are available.
Publication Dates Covered: 2008 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides citations and abstracts for articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs, focusing on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This bilingual database encompasses writings on the visual arts including traditional fine arts (ceramics, drawing, painting, prints, sculpture, etc.), architecture and industrial design, and decorative and applied arts (crafts, folk art, graphic arts, etc.). For materials published from 1975 through 2007 see the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) database.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable. Images are available for searching as well.
Free resource
Current K-Staters: use this link
JSTOR offers a collection of free, open access journals and books. These titles include those published by university and academic presses.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Formerly Grove Art Online, this is the definitive encyclopedia for the arts and design. This portal to Oxford art reference products includes cross-referenced articles and links to art images in galleries and museums. Articles are scholarly and include bibliographic references. This database contains Grove Art Online (the entire text of The Dictionary of Art), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and is continually updated.
Publication Dates Covered: 1944 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Access information about the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing. Includes indexing and abstracting for over 400 periodical titles, and for thousands of titles drawn from sources such as books, conferences, theses, technical reports, and trade literature. Includes subjects such as manufacturing techniques, textile end products, chemicals and dyes, the properties of natural and synthetic fibers and yarns, environmental issues, and the related areas of chemistry, biology, and physics.
