Showing 16 Databases
Publication Dates Covered: Indexing 1982 - present; abstracts 1994 - present; select full text 1997 - present Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Addresses “art” in the broadest sense including topics relevant to archaeology, architecture, art history, ceramics, fashion design, graphic arts, interior design, landscape architecture, metalsmithing, photography, sculpture, textiles and more. Includes content from international arts journals, periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Article descriptions cover American and international journals from scholarly and popular periodical literature, publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
Publication Dates Covered: 1983 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes more than 400 core English-language scientific and technical publications pertaining to physical science, engineering, and sustainable design. Provides citations and abstracts.
Includes documentaries, interviews, and critical analysis on art and architecture from the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary time periods, placing emphasis on art history, theory, architecture, and graphic design. A key feature is the Michael Blackwood Film Collection, a series of internationally acclaimed documentaries covering innovations in art and architecture.
Publication Dates Covered: 1975-2007 Free Resource
Provides citations and abstracts from 1975-2007 for articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs, focusing on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This multilingual database encompasses writings on the visual arts including traditional fine arts (ceramics, drawing, painting, prints, sculpture, etc.), architecture and industrial design, and decorative and applied arts (crafts, folk art, graphic arts, etc.). For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) database.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides comprehensive content on sustainable design practices and green building materials. Shares expertise and lessons learned from design experts working in the field. Builds context for sustainable design strategies and what makes a building product or material green.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides information about books, serials, videos, and other items cataloged by libraries around the world, including K-State. Each of the more than 57 million records contains information regarding which libraries hold the item. Items not available through K-State Libraries can be requested via Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the Get It button.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Non-K-Staters: use this link
GreenFILE resources examine the connection between humans and the environment, from both positive and negative perspectives. 200 scholarly and general interest titles covering agriculture, education, law, health and technology are included.
Publication Dates Covered: 2008 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides citations and abstracts for articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and exhibition catalogs, focusing on European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This bilingual database encompasses writings on the visual arts including traditional fine arts (ceramics, drawing, painting, prints, sculpture, etc.), architecture and industrial design, and decorative and applied arts (crafts, folk art, graphic arts, etc.). For materials published from 1975 through 2007 see the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) database.
Paid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable. Images are available for searching as well.
Free resource
Current K-Staters: use this link
JSTOR offers a collection of free, open access journals and books. These titles include those published by university and academic presses.
A database of contemporary materials used in industry, construction, and other aspects of life. It provides information about the properties of the materials, current uses, their producers and places of production.
Each individual user of Material ConneXion is limited to 100 downloads per day
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Formerly Grove Art Online, this is the definitive encyclopedia for the arts and design. This portal to Oxford art reference products includes cross-referenced articles and links to art images in galleries and museums. Articles are scholarly and include bibliographic references. This database contains Grove Art Online (the entire text of The Dictionary of Art), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and is continually updated.
Publication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Create a guest account for limited access to case studies.
Publication Dates Covered: Science 1945 - present; Social Sciences 1956 - present; Arts & Humanities 1975 - present; Emerging Sources: 2015 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Online version of four Citation Indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, and Emerging Sources. Be sure all indexes are selected in the "Editions" pull-down menu above the search boxes. In addition to searching by keyword, subject, author, etc. for articles in over 8,000 journals, one can do a “cited reference” search to see how frequently and where an article has been cited.
