Hale Library remains closed, but branch locations are fully operational. Online resources, interlibrary loan service, and library assistance is available.
Visit the Hale Library Blog and FAQ for updates.

Data - Geospatial (GIS) Resources

Environmental Resourses

Kansas Brownfields Program (NLCD)

Site provides information about contaminated properties in Kansas including their location and status.  Can export into an Excel file.

 

Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)

Use the CIESIN Gateway to search for environmental data using an electronic catalog of data resources.

 

Earth Resourses Observation and Science (EROS) Data Center

Access to aerial photographs, digital elevation models, digital raster graphics, satellite imagery, and land cover data.

 

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

Website of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Download flood maps and Digital Flood Insurance Rate Maps (DFIRM) for a fee. If you are looking for the Kansas or Missouri data, please contact  (cads@k-state.edu).  Online viewers are available.  Kansas data is available for viewing through the Kansas Department of Agriculture.  Beware, maps are slow to load

 

Geospatial Data Gateway

Assess and download environmental and natural resources information available for through this interactive mapping portal

 

USGS's Earth Explorer

1:250,000 and 1:100,000 Scale Land Use Land Cover (LULC) datasets are available for download.

 

Global Change Master Directory (NASA-Goddard Space Flight Center)

More than 25,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, covering subjects within the Earth and environmental sciences to assist researchers, policy makers, and the public in the discovery of and access to data, related services, and ancillary information (which includes descriptions of instruments and platforms) relevant to global change and Earth science research.

 

National Environmental, Satellite, Data, and Information Service

Access to global environmental data from satellites and other sources. Links to the Climate Data Center, Geophysical Data Center, Ocean Data Center, and the Coastal Data Center. NESDIS is a part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

 

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's Geospatial Services

Includes the popular National Wetlands Inventory, the Critical Habitat Portal, and other information from Fish and Wildlife Service GIS data sources.

 

National Land Cover Database (NLCD)

The NLCD is a product of the Multi-Resolution Land Characteristics Consortium (MRLC). Download land cover, tree canopy and urban imperviousness image files.

 

The National Map Seamless Server

Free downloads of transportation, boundaries, hydrography, land cover and elevation data. Also has orthoimagery and Landsat imagery.

 

National Wetlands Inventory Center

Contains data about the characteristics, extent and status of the Nation's wetlands and deep water habitats. This site is produced by the Department of Fish and Wildlife; a division of the Department of the Interior.

 

USGS National Water Quality Assessment Data Warehouse

Contains chemical, biological, and physical water quality data from 51 USGS study units across the U.S.

 

USGS Water Data for the Nation

Includes an interactive search tool to create tabular data regarding water conditions, including surface water, ground water, and water quality.