Kansas Environmental Resources
Kansas Data Access and Support Center (DASC)
The Environmental Resources portion of their catalog contains Ecoregions, Critical Habitat, Protected Areas, Prairie Chickens, and Natural Communities in Kansas as well as Landfills, and Lake, Stream, and Groundwater Monitoring Sites. The Land Surface Geology Soils heading contains multiple shapefiles under the subjects of land cover, soils, GAP Analysis Program vector and raster data, vegetation, and historic geology.
Federal Government Resources
EPA National Geospatial Program
Environmental data with a geospatial component is now available through the EPA Environmental Dataset Gateway. Search for very specific information as well as datasets that cover the entire country. Provides links to other useful information including geospatial applications, maps, and EPA grants that have a geospatial component.
NOAA National Climatic Data Center
The largest archive of weather data. The GIS Map Services Index provides access to the data and the interactive map application displays available data.
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's Geospatial Services
Includes the popular National Wetlands Inventory, the Critical Habitat Portal, and other information from Fish and Wildlife Service GIS data sources.
USDA Food Environment Atlas
This Atlas brings together 160 indicators on the food environment, including: food choices, local foods, food prices, access to affordable healthy foods, health and well-being of a population, and community characteristics that may play a role in food access.
USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Data Center
Access to aerial photographs, digital elevation models, digital raster graphics, satellite imagery, and land cover data.
USGS National Gap Analysis Program
Focuses on collecting information on species and habitats that are not already covered by existing conservation areas. Because habitat is lost or fragmented at an alarming rate, the need to identify these areas is very important. Data includes information on protected areas, species' ranges and distribution, and land cover.
USGS National Land Cover Database
Serves as the definitive Landsat-based, 30-meter resolution, land cover database for the Nation. NLCD provides spatial reference and descriptive data for characteristics of the land surface such as thematic class (urban, agriculture, and forest), percent impervious surface, and percent tree canopy cover.
USGS Geospatial Data Gateway
Assess and download environmental and natural resources information available for through this interactive mapping portal
Other Sustainability Sources
Commission for Environmental Cooperation (CEC)'s North American Environmental Atlas
The CEC works to promote co-operation between North American countries on environmental issues, which is useful for tracking pollutants or the spread invasive species across borders. The map viewer allows you to see the different map layers before downloading the data.
Great Lakes Information Network (GLIN)
This commission supports the conservation and balanced use of the Great Lakes. Select "Information Management & Blue Accounting to access data assembled, curated, and managed A central pillar of this program is Blue Accounting, a partnership between the GLC and The Nature Conservancy. Blue Accounting will provide Great Lakes leaders with information services that measure the progress being made across the region toward shared desired outcomes for the Great Lakes. Provides a centralized location to discover, publish, and acquire geospatial data for areas within the Great Lakes region (U.S. and Canada),downloadable images depicting Great Lakes geophysical data, and a collection of links and tools intended to connect users to additional resources relating to Great Lakes data sets.
ESRI GIS for Environmental Management
Find and join a community related to your topic. Click "gallery" to find examples of geospatial tools in action.
ESRI GIS for Natural Resources
Industry specific pages featuring success stories of geospatial tools in action. Both include links to additional topics in these environmental industries including Sustainable Development and helpful links to larger ESRI community.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility's Data Portal
Aims to make the world's biodiversity data available to everyone. Very focused on the geospatial element.
Green Map System
Tool to allow for crowd-sourcing of sustainability data from around the world. Encourages the public to go out and collect green information in their local areas, then share with the world.