ENGL 384 - Multicultural Children's Literature
Library Research Guide
Primary Source Archives
These sites are digital archives of primary sources. Search by person, place, event, or object.
This is just a sampling of the primary source databases and websites that exist. See a complete list of primary source databases to which K-State Libraries subscribes.
If you can't find what you are searching for, Ask a Librarian or contact me directly.
Search Tips:
1. Search using the language and terms used by the characters in the book you are studying. Primary source materials are historical and cultural and use words and phrases that might be particular to that time or cultural group. A database or website is more likely to find sources that match your search if your language matches the language used in the documents.
2. Because primary sources are records of particular times, places, and people, you may encounter language and images that are offensive. We do not condone the language and images, but do recognize that they are part of our history and provide insight into the lives of people and cultures.
All Topics
Due to the high number of items in these archives, you may need to limit your results by date or format.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Free resource
DPLA offers a one-stop site to search digital collections from cultural institutions across the United States. Materials include photographs, maps, letters, diaries, among other cultural artifacts.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsManuscripts, film scores, photographs, maps, and more, all digitized from the Library of Congress.
- New York Public Library Digital CollectionsOver 900,000 items digitized from the New York Public LIbrary's Collection. Includes materials from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
Cultures and Identities
These digital archives focus on preserving the experiences of specific cultures and identities.
This is not a comprehensive list and I am always actively searching for collections. Collections created and/or maintained by members of the community are of particular interest.
Find Digital Archives
You can discover materials related to many cultures and identities in the collections listed above. The Digital Public Library of America (link above) is especially useful for discovering collections because it searches collections from across the United States. When you find a particularly useful item, look to see where it is from and follow the links to explore more.
You may also try searching the internet for: "name of culture/identity" AND digital archive
Many archives are location based, so look for digital archives of the city or state where your book takes place or where a large population of the community you are learning about live.
- Japanese American National MuseumDigital materials include highlights from the permanent collection, photographs, documents, and moving film.
- Latinx Project at NYUThis page contains links to many free sites, including archives and publications, related to Latinx communities. The Latinx Project at New York University explores and promotes U.S. Latinx Art, Culture and Scholarship through creative and interdisciplinary programs.
- New Mexico Digital ArchiveNew Mexico Digital Collections is the central search portal for digital collections about New Mexico.
Subcollections include Indian Pueblo Cultural Center and National Hispanic Cultural Center. - ONE - National Gay and Lesbian ArchivesONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers.
A small subset of this material has been digitized and is available online. - South Asian American Digital ArchiveDigitally documents, preserves, and shares stories of South Asian Americans.
- Umbra SearchUmbra Search is a digital library and widget that aggregates materials documenting African American history and cultural life from archives, libraries, museums, and other US repositories. Umbra Search features thumbnail images and descriptive information about photographs, manuscripts, documents, books, sound files, video files, and other freely available resources.
Social Movements
- Freedom ArchivesThe Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements.
Social movements covered include, but not limited to: Black Liberation, Gender & Sexuality, Indigenous/Native American Struggles.
Newspapers and Magazines
Newspapers and magazines that are contemporaneous with a book's time period offer insight into the daily life and historical events the characters might encounter. The ads can be particularly helpful to learn how much something cost, what a product looked like, and what was popular.
K-State Libraries Databases
- African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998Publication Dates Covered: 1827-1998 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Covers African American experiences before the Civil War through the Civil Rights Movement, and up to the end of the 20th century. Includes more than 270 newspapers (published by or for African Americans) from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles, and provides access to both full-text and images. - New York Times, Historical
Publication Dates Covered: 1851-2021 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Digitized version of The New York Times since its first issue in 1851. Search the full text of articles to find articles on a wide variety of topics. Full name of the database is ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index. - Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Publication Dates Covered: 1890-1982 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Indexes popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 through 1982. Includes citations for more than 3 million articles from 375 magazines.
Open Access Digital Collections
These sites offer free access to historical magazines and newspapers that have been digitized.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Publication Dates Covered: 1756-1963 Free Resource
Search U.S. newspapers (or just Kansas Newspapers) published between 1777 and 1963.. Excellent database of primary source material.
- Google MagazinesMagazines available via Google include The Advocate, Billboard, Ebony Jr., Jet, Life, and Vibe.
Click on the "About this magazine" link for each title to see all issues available; current issues are often not available. - Independent Voices : An Open Access Collection of an Alternative PressIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Popular Culture
These resources provide provide sources popular culture, including dance, film, television, music, and fashion.
K-State Libraries Databases
- Dance Online: Dance in Video
Publication Dates Covered: 1950s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Offers more than 900 hours of streaming video of dance and related documentaries spanning the 1950s to today. Includes modern dance, ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. - Vogue ArchivePublication Dates Covered: 1892 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This database contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. There are options to browse complete issues or search by garment type, designer, brand name, photographer and more.
Open Access Digital Collections
Film and television
- Box Office MojoOwned by IMDb (Internet Movie Database), Box Office Mojo reports on how much films make in the box office. Includes weekend, monthly, yearly data.
- Hollywood Diversity ReportAnnual reports published by UCLA that examine Hollywood television and films in regards to the diversity of actors, genre, show locations, and more.
- Television - Internet ArchiveCollections of material recorded from TV, including commercials, old TV shows, political ads and more.
Music
- AllMusicSearchable website with artist biographies, album, tracks, and other details.
- The Black Music History LibaryCollection curated by music journalist Jenzia Burgos. You can access some materials on this site, others may need to be borrowed through interlibrary loan. Read the About to optimize your time on this site.
Pop Culture Mix
- Mike's Amazing World of ComicsAn incredibly detailed site about comic books, with a primary focus on DC comics. Includes publication information, covers, character histories, and more.
Material Culture
These resources can help you locate and answer questions about objects from material culture like telephones, cars, and even toothbrushes.
Another good source of information about material culture are the ads that appear in newspapers and magazines.
K-State Libraries Databases
K-State Libraries Books
Material Culture in America by Call Number: GN560.U6 M37 2008ISBN: 9781576076477Publication Date: 2007The first encyclopedia to look at the study of material culture (objects, images, spaces technology, production, and consumption), and what it reveals about historical and contemporary life in the United States. Nearly 200 entries tracing the history, production, consumption, and reception of various types of goods and exploring the uses and meanings of artifacts within changing social, cultural, economic, and political contexts
Obsolete by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780810978492Publication Date: 2010In this witty and informative collection of short essays, journalist and social commentator Anna Jane Grossman takes a thoughtful look at what everyday apparatuses, ideas, and behaviors are quickly disappearing--or else have already left the building. Obsolete contains essays and entries on more than 100 alphabetized fading subjects, including Blind Dates, Mix Tapes, Getting Lost, Porn Magazines, Looking Old, Operators, Camera Film, Hitchhiking, Body Hair, Writing Letters, Basketball Players in Short Shorts, Privacy, Cash, and, yes, Books.
Toys and American Culture by Call Number: EbookISBN: 1282428616Publication Date: 2009Alphabetically arranged entries trace developments in toy making and toy marketing across the evolving landscape of 20th-century America. In addition to discussing the history of America's most influential toys, the book contains specific entries on the individuals, organizations, companies, and publications that gave shape to America's culture of play from 1900 to 2000. Toys from the two decades that frame the 20th century are also included, as bridges to the fascinating past and the inspiring future of American toys.
Open Access Digital Collections
- Catalogs Collection - Internet ArchiveA growing collection of digitized catalogs, from automotive brochures to LEGOs to house plans.
