Agricultural Economics (Undergraduate)

A guide for K-State undergradtuate students in agricultural economics or agribusiness classes

Library Research Guide

Public Company Financials

K-State Resources

Mergent Online
Simultaneous users: 50 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Information found in this database includes financial statements and company histories covering approximately 20,000 U.S. and foreign public companies.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Paid for by K-State's College of Business Administration
register for an account
Accounts must be approved by K-State's College of Business Administration before they can be used to access WRDS.

WRDS is a comprehensive economic and financial data management system intended for graduate and faculty-level research. The data, from various sources, covers multiple disciplines; covers thousands of companies; includes security prices and trading volume, income and balance sheet items, stock market indices, bond prices and interest rates, mutual fund and stock ownership information, options data, and a wide array of macroeconomic time series. International data, marketing and industry reports are also available. The data sets are downloaded and can be manipulated using Excel, SPSS, or SAS.

Free Resources

EDGAR - SEC.gov
Use the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's EDGAR system to locate public company filings such as 10-K reports. International companies may file reports with the SEC. The 10-K equivalent for international company is the 20-F.

Private Company Sales Estimates

Private companies are not required to disclose financial data. However, a handful of business intelligence firms, including Dun & Bradstreet and Data Axle, estimate sales volume or for private companies. K-State users can find sales estimates fro private companies in Data Axle Reference Solutions and Mergent Online (subscription includes the D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company Search).

Data Axle Reference Solutions
Paid for by K-State Libraries
The Reference Solutions U.S. Businesses database includes more than 60 million businesses (public and private) in the United States. Use the database to identify customers or competitors by industry classification of geographic location.
Mergent Online
Simultaneous users: 50 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Information found in this database includes financial statements and company histories covering approximately 20,000 U.S. and foreign public companies.