EDEL 411 - Science of Reading

Resources for EDEL 411 students, including finding children's books, searching for articles, using the Curriculum Materials Center, and more!

Library Research Guide

Literacy Journals

Try these journals that focus on emerging literacy topics.

Journal of Early Childhood Literacy
Journal of Early Childhood Literacy is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal that focuses on the nature and function of literacy in early childhood.
Language Arts
Language Arts is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal that focuses on language arts teaching and learning. It covers children from pre-kindergarten through the eighth grade.
Reading Research Quarterly
A peer-reviewed, scholarly journal focusing on literacy among readers of all ages.
The Reading Teacher
The Reading Teacher is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal for those involved with literacy education, up to the age of 12. An International Literacy Association journal.

Databases

Databases are essential tools for finding quality research articles and other resources that can help with literacy-related research topics. Explore the databases below for scholarly research and information about children's books.

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database
Paid for by K-State Libraries
The CLCD is a complete source of information about children’s books, audio recordings, and films. Can search by age, genre, grade, reading metrics, and language. Also includes curriculum tools for lesson planning. Contains book awards and reviews from major publications such as Booklist, Horn Book, and Kirkus. All reviews of books are full text searchable.
Education Full Text
Contains articles related to education in general and thousands of articles on early literacy. Note: the database is not really all full-text (though the title might make you think otherwise) - you'll need to use the Get-It button to access articles.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
PsycInfo (APA)
The preeminent psychology database with articles related to topics on early childhood education.

Literacy Journals

Try these journals that focus on emerging literacy topics.

Journal of Early Childhood Literacy
Journal of Early Childhood Literacy is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal that focuses on the nature and function of literacy in early childhood.
Language Arts
Language Arts is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal that focuses on language arts teaching and learning. It covers children from pre-kindergarten through the eighth grade.
Reading Research Quarterly
A peer-reviewed, scholarly journal focusing on literacy among readers of all ages.
The Reading Teacher
The Reading Teacher is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal for those involved with literacy education, up to the age of 12. An International Literacy Association journal.