ID 651 - Designing Supportive Environments
Library Research Guide
Database Subscriptions
Academic libraries subscribe to databases to provide access to scholarly, trustworthy publications. Although many libraries subscribe to the same databases, specific database subscriptions can vary by library system, depending on the research and teaching strengths of that institution.
Each of the boxes below include multiple tabs, each with a set of recommended databases for research in topics related to interior design. These lists are intended as starting points. Additional databases can be accessed on the K-State Libraries Databases page.
General Databases
Google Scholar and ProQuest Research Library are recommended as starting places as well as databases to search for popular press publications to establish context.
The Recommended Databases box below presents more specific recommendations that span the breadth and depth of topics covered in class. Use the K-State Libraries Databases page to explore different or additional database subscriptions that may be appropriate to your research topic.
- Academic Search Premier
Publication Dates Covered: 1975 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
A good place to start searching for almost any topic. It provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. - Google ScholarFree Resource
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that they aren’t actually all “scholarly.” Look for the text “Get It @ KSU” instead of the usual “Get It” button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It is sometimes found under the “more” link below the record. - ProQuest Central
Paid for by K-State Libraries
ProQuest Central brings together many of the most used ProQuest databases. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas (business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion). It includes full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. With our Ebook Central subscription (especially access to Academic Complete and Academic Video Online) users can now search in a comprehensive way that connects text and video.
Recommended Databases
These databases are helpful in researching information about aging populations and contain peer-reviewed, scholarly resources that assume a level of familiarity and understanding of academic terminology from their audiences.
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Publication Dates Covered: 1966 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains over 120,000 records related to social gerontology, including the biology of aging, the politics of aging, the medicalization of aging, the elderly and their families, aging and the workplace, and aging and the economy. An essential resource for anyone interested in gerontology research. - AgeLine
Publication Dates Covered: 1978 - present; selected 1966-1977 Simultaneous users: 1 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Ageline exclusively focuses upon the population aged 50 and over, containing indexes, abstracts, books, journals, research reports, and consumer guides on the following topics: theories of aging, Social Security, Medicare/Medicaid, marketing to older adults, elder care, Alzheimer’s disease, health care costs and policy, financial and retirement planning, fitness, nutrition, and more. - Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Paid for by the State Library of Kansas
Contains videos (formerly in Alexander Street's Nursing Education & video collection) and citations, abstracts, and full-text of nursing and allied health publications. Results can be limited by age group, source type, language, and more.
These databases encompass research and publication in the psychological sciences.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Publication Dates Covered: 1930 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection covers information about topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, child and adolescent psychology, and observational and experimental methods in psychology. The full-text of more than 500 journals is available, including key journal backfiles from the 1960′s and 1970′s. - PsycInfo (APA)
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains citations and abstracts of the world’s literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related subjects. It includes citations to journal articles from more than 1,900 journal titles, technical reports, and dissertations of psychological relevance from more than 50 countries. Also includes books and book chapters. - Sociological AbstractsPublication Dates Covered: 1963 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Search international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Indexes journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
These databases cover publications specific to the fields of business and the working world.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionPublication Dates Covered: 1971 - present; for Dateline 1985 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Covers thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. - Business: Insights
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Find company histories, brand information and investment reports, and industry news. Formerly known as Business and Company Resource Center, the user can search for articles, case studies and market reports by company name, Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) code, or industry. Some full text available. - Business Source Premier
Publication Dates Covered: 1965 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Business Source Premier is a basic resource for researching business topics providing full text for more than 2,100 journals, as well as market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. All disciplines of business are covered, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, banking, and finance. There are instructions available for finding company and industry profiles.
These databases offer information specific to interior design practice and scholarship.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsPublication Dates Covered: 1934 - present; selectively 1741 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Published by the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, this database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Article descriptions cover American and international journals from scholarly and popular periodical literature, publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. - JSTOR
Paid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable. Images are available for searching as well. - Material ConneXionPaid for by K-State Libraries
A database of contemporary materials used in industry, construction, and other aspects of life. It provides information about the properties of the materials, current uses, their producers and places of production.
Each individual user of Material ConneXion is limited to 100 downloads per day - Scopus
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Scopus is a good starting point for finding articles on almost any topic. It contains over 47,000,000 records to scholarly publications, trade publications and conference proceedings. Scopus is an excellent database for cited reference searching. Full-text articles are available by using the Get It button.
These databases are especially helpful for researching topics related to education or learning environments.
- Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Publication Dates Covered: 1995 - present Free Resource
This free database contains resources from disciplines related to child care and early education, including research reports, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, instruments and measures, citations for scholarly journal articles and books, grey literature, government documents, and more. - Education Full Text
Publication Dates Covered: Indexing 1983 - present; full text 1996 - present Simultaneous users: 8 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Includes full-text education journals that cover the essentials of education and related fields of study, including in-depth coverage of special education. Contains some publications not covered in ERIC. - Educator’s Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)
Publication Dates Covered: 1980 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
A collection of over 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports on topics in all levels of education, from preschool to college. Subject areas range from bilingual education to educational funding and administration. Full text for over half the journals indexed in ERIC is provided. - ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
Publication Dates Covered: 1966 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Non-K-Staters: use this link
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books on education-related topics. Links to some full-text articles. ERIC also has an excellent thesaurus.
These databases provide information on a variety of health related research. Information included in these databases will utilize the professional vocabulary of health practitioners.
- Health and Wellness (Gale)Publication Dates Covered: 1980 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Medicine, health, and alternative medicine topics are covered. Provides access to medical journal and magazine articles, a medical encyclopedia, and dictionary. Directories of medical organizations and drugs are provided along with a health assessment tool. - MedlinePlusFree Resource
Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus includes information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources. It contains references to the latest health professional articles, a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, and drug information. - PubMed
Publication Dates Covered: 1950 - present Free Resource
PubMed is a free service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 21 million citations from Medline and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles.
