ENGL 417 - Written Communication for the Workplace

This guide contains resources and learning advice commonly needed for written communication in the workplace.

Library Research Guide

Major Business Literature Databases

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) and ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) are the major business literature databases. Although the two databases overlap, some popular publications are only available in one or the other. For example, at K-State, the Harvard Business Review is only available in Business Source Premier, but the Wall Street Journal is available in ABI/INFORM. In addition to news, the databases contain trade and scholarly literature, industry reports, and country risk profiles.

Need to find business news sources? Start with ABI/INFORM.

ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM covers key business and economics titles such as The Economist, the Wall Street Journal, and the Financial Times. The database also includes journals, country profiles, and industry reports.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review in addition to journals, industry reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Need to find general news sources? Start with ProQuest Central.

ProQuest Central

Paid for by K-State Libraries ProQuest Central brings together many of the most used ProQuest databases, including ABI/INFORM. Try this tool when you are looking for general news sources in addition to business news.

General News Sources

Need to find general news sources? Start with ProQuest Central.

ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary research database. The collection includes major news sources, such as the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Chicago Tribune, as well as important business titles, such as the Wall Street Journal, the Economist, and the Financial Times.

Business News Sources

Need to find business news sources? Start with ABI/INFORM.

ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM focuses on business literature and includes important titles, such as the Wall Street Journal and the Economist. The content in this database is included in ProQuest Central.

Tips for Finding News Articles in ProQuest Databases

Limit by source type.

For current business news, limit to newspapers, magazines, and trade journals. Use the source type menu to the left of the search results.

Limit by publication title.

Use the menu to the left of the search results to limit to a select group of publications.

Search for a Newspaper or Journal by Title

Not sure if the library provides full-text access to a newspaper or journal? Select Journals from the drop-down menu on the library homepage to search for a title. The Journals knowledge base lists databases that have full-text access to a title and years covered.