LEAD 350 - Culture and Context in Leadership
Library Research Guide
button helps you access the full text of articles.Database Directory
Use the databases to find research articles (among many other cool things). We have over 300 databases; there are a number of ways that you can search for databases specific to your needs. The image below of the main database page highlights a few of the ways you can search.
Search Terms
Once you have decided on your topic, brainstorm keywords to use when you search for articles. You can do this by identifying the most important words or phrases in your research question.
Sometimes the database will tell you what the keywords are, or even suggest other possible keywords to use for more articles. In addition, try looking in the sections of research articles called Keywords, Descriptors, or Subject Headings.
In the Libraries' article databases, you'll use these words to search; unlike Google, these databases do not understand full sentences.
Here is an example:
Research question:
What were the effects of the Supreme Court's Brown v. Topeka Board of Education on the inclusion of people of color in the larger communities?
Possible keywords:
Brown v. Topeka Board of Education / segregation / education / communit* / involvement / race
Don't forget to use the * (asterisk) to get results with all forms of the word (communit* for community or communities)
Research Articles
In most cases, there is no one perfect article out there that will tell you everything you need to answer your research question - that's why you're asking it! If you cannot find an article that directly discusses what you need, look for articles that address parts of your topic or other related topics and apply those to yours.
A few databases we recommend starting with for your paper/presentation:
Interdisciplinary and A Great Place To Start
- ProQuest Research LibraryPublication Dates Covered: 1971 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is a good starting point for finding journal articles on almost any topic. Over 150 academic subject areas are covered, and most articles are full-text. Searches can be limited to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. - JSTORElectronic full text of over 550 core journals in disciplines ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics.
- ABI/INFORM CollectionCovers more than 3,000 scholarly, trade, and general publications as well as regional and national newspapers.
Social Sciences and Data
- Sociological AbstractsIndexes and abstracts international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- PsychINFOProduced by the American Psychological Association and contains citations and abstracts of the world’s literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related subjects.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) IndexIndexes publications on public affairs, social policy, and the social sciences from over 120 countries throughout the world.
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social ResearchICPSR includes over 500,000 digital files with social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, economics, history, gerontology, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, education and more. Each user must create an individual account.
