- Library Home
- Research Guides
- ENGL 695 - Topics in Literature
- Post-Colonial Literature
ENGL 695 - Topics in Literature
Library Research Guide
Post-Colonial Literature
This page provides guidance specifically related to post-colonial literature. Visit the English research guide, also linked from this guide's home page, for additional resources.
This guide, and many of the resources described within, presents three spellings for the course topic:
- post-colonialism
- postcolonialism
- post colonialism
Keep these spelling variations in mind when searching for materials.
Other language variations to learn are the colonial and postcolonial names for the countries or cities that are featured in the work being studied. (Yes, Wikipedia can help with that.)
Want to even more information about research materials for post-colonial literature?
Literary Research and Postcolonial Literatures in English by
This volume offers guidance for those researching the postcolonial literature of the former British colonies in Africa, the Caribbean, and South Asia.
Call Number: online bookISBN: 1283523914Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Journals
These journals are a sampling of those that focus on post-colonial literatures. Follow the links to browse issues. If the full text of an article is not available online or on the shelf, request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.
The guide provided above, Literary Research and Postcolonial Literatures in English, includes information about additional journals.
Because the full text of all of these journals is not available online, use databases like MLA and Google Scholar to conduct a more thorough search (see the Databases box below.)
- Journal of Commonwealth literature"The Journal of Commonwealth Literature is internationally recognized as the leading critical and bibliographic forum in the field of Commonwealth and postcolonial literatures."
- CallalooFocuses on literatures and cultures of the African diaspora.
- Postcolonial StudiesAn interdisciplinary journal of postcolonial studies, including literature, politics, and economics.
- Postcolonial TextOfficial publication of the Association for Commonwealth Literature and Language Studies.
- The Year's Work in Critical and Cultural TheoryPublished annually, the journal "provides a narrative bibliography of published work, recording significant debates and issues of interest across a broad range of research in the humanities and social sciences."
Every year includes an article reviewing works in postcolonial theory.
Databases
Databases such as MLA and Google Scholar will allow you to search and find at least the citations of articles. Note that these databases tend to focus on journals typically read and cited in European and North American scholarly venues.
- MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography
Publication Dates Covered: 1926 - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
This is the largest and most comprehensive database for literary criticism in all languages. Also covers folklore, linguistics, and film studies. Includes journal and book articles, books, and dissertations. Does not index book reviews in literary journals. - Literature Resource Center
Paid for by K-State Libraries
Provides researchers with unbounding literary resources to support their literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a wide variety of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented through up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. Use this resource to analyze authors and works throughout time. - Google ScholarFree Resource
Google Scholar is a useful tool for searching through a very broad scope of articles; however, be aware that they aren’t actually all “scholarly.” Look for the text “Get It @ KSU” instead of the usual “Get It” button to search for the full text of articles that don’t have an included PDF. It is sometimes found under the “more” link below the record.
Scholars in Africa and India are working to increase access to their scholarship through websites such as the ones listed below.
(If you are aware of similar sites in other former Commonwealth countries, please let me know.)
- African Journals Online (AJOL)AJOL's goal is, "that African-origin research output is available to Africans and to the rest of the world."
Registration is free, but does not guarantee access to full text of articles. Use Interlibrary Loan. - National Digital Library of India - Literature and RhetoricAccording to the site, a pilot project to develop a framework of virtual repository of learning resources with a single-window search facility. While we may not be able to access the full text in the U.S., it's informative to see what research is being done in India.
- ShodhgangaA repository of Indian electronic theses and dissertations.
- AfricaBib"AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research. "
Cultural Context
Understand more about cultural and historical events framing the work you are studying.
Secondary Sources
These databases provide academic articles that will primarily serve as secondary sources.
- America: History & Life
Publication Dates Covered: 1964 - present Simultaneous users: 6 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Indexes and abstracts for approximately 1,800 journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. Full-text coverage for more than 280 journals and more than 80 books. Contains citations and links to book and media reviews. Can search by time period. - JSTOR
Paid for by K-State Libraries
A full-text collection of journals ranging from history to business to literature to science and mathematics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a title, but the most recent three to five years of each title are usually not available. The full article text is searchable. Images are available for searching as well.
Primary Sources - Databases
These databases will provide primary sources (voices). Be sure to consider what perspective or bias may be present.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) supports original research and inspired teaching by preserving and making available a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions. CRL works with specialists and experts at major research universities to identify and preserve unique and uncommon documentation and evidence.
- U.K. Parliamentary PapersPublication Dates Covered: 1688-2014 Paid for by K-State Libraries
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCCP) includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. K-State provides access to the following modules: 18th century, 19th century, 20th century, 21st century (2000-2014), and the Hansard (1803-2005). - Internet Archive: eBooks and TextsPublication Dates Covered: mostly pre-1923 Free Resource
Browse an international collection of books, articles, pamphlets, and other documents contributed by governments, libraries, and other organizations. It includes many of the most popular works of literature and scholarship as well as a host of lesser-known gems. Each of its items can be viewed, downloaded, and printed for free. - Times Digital ArchivePublication Dates Covered: 1785-2019 Paid for by K-State Libraries
The complete issues of more than two hundred years of The Times of London are available for keyword searching by users, including articles, advertisements, and illustrations. Coverage of specific events and trends can be reviewed, providing a contemporary view to modern researchers.
Primary Sources - Archives and Collections
Search for archives, papers, photographs, film, and other primary sources that will provide the voice of someone who witnessed or experienced an event related to your work. These collections may be freely available on the internet.
Below are samples of the types of primary sources you might find.
- British PatheNewsreel footage from British Pathe, dating between 1896 to 1976.
- The DawnEnglish language newspaper for Pakistan.
- Indian Memory ProjectIndian Memory Project is "an online, curated, visual and narrative based archive that traces a history and identities of the Indian Subcontinent, via photographs and letters found in personal archives. "
This link opens to the timeline, which can be scanned for photos and posts.
