- Library Home
- Research Guides
- English
- Starting Your Research
English
This guide serves as a starting point for locating and evaluating information for English.
Library Research Guide
Welcome!
Welcome to the Libraries' English Subject Guide! This guide is designed to help you learn how to use K-State Libraries' many resources. If this guide does not have the information you are looking for, don't hesitate to Ask A Librarian for help any time during the Libraries' service hours.
Start Your Research
Quickly start your research by clicking on the links below.
Tools and Key Resources
Use the library like an expert.
Find Books
We have millions of books. Learn to find them.
- Search It (materials in K-State Libraries' collection)
- WorldCat (materials held in libraries around the world)
- More books ...
Find Academic Articles
Look in the right places for articles.
- MLA International Bibliography (primary database for literary research)
- JSTOR (multidisciplinary database, includes academic articles about languages and literature)
- More article sources ...
Literary Criticism
Find reviews and methods.
- Literary Reference Center (database, includes author biographies and plot overviews, some academic articles)
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism (database, includes entries about literary critics, theories, and movements)
- More critique sources ...
Cultural Context
Time and place matter to research analysis.
- Diversity Database Suite (database, includes academic articles about cultures and identities)
- America: History and Life (database, includes academic articles about American and Canadian history)
- More cultural information ...
Citations
Common styles and tools for writing research.
MLA Style (Modern Language Association style manual for writing and citations)
- Zotero (citation management software)
- More citation tools ...
