Personal Financial Planning (Graduate)

Guide for Personal Financial Planning graduate students

Library Research Guide

For the purposes of this guide, "tests and measurements" includes instruments, scales, surveys, questionnaires, etc.

Commercially published tests and measurements may only be available to view or use for a fee.
Even if you cannot access the test or measurement, you may be able to find descriptions and reviews that address reliability, validity, sensitivity, and specificity in Mental Measurements Yearbook or a scholarly journal article that evaluates the test.
APA PsycInfo indexes the tests and measurements used in articles. Most databases do not do this.
Try searching the library catalog for books on tests and measurements in your discipline. They can be a good source of background on commonly used tests and measurements.
Researchers often do not include the text of tests or measurements they used in an article. If they cite the authors that created or revised the instrument, that publication may include the entire test or measurement. Dissertations usually include more supplementary materials like questionnaires and surveys.

Financial Planning and Counseling Scales by John E. Grable (Editor); Kristy L. Archuleta (Editor); R. Roudi Nazarinia Roy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781441969088
Publication Date: 2010-11-17
The personal, household, and consumer finance field is growing quite rapidly, especially as universities and policy makers see the need for additional research and clinical application in this dynamic area of study. Currently, the profession is advancing towards the stage where professional practice becomes increasingly evidenced-based. Financial Planning and Counseling Scales provides educators, researchers, students, and practitioners with a much needed review of reliable and valid personal assessment scales and instruments that can be used for both research and clinical practice. In addition to presenting actual scales and instruments with applicable psychometric details, the book also includes an overview of measurement issues and psychometric evaluation.

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Publication Dates Covered: 1985 - present Simultaneous users: 4 Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute’s Yearbooks. Covers more than 2,200 commercially-available tests in categories such as personality, development, behavioral assessment, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, speech & hearing, and sensory motor.

PsycInfo (APA)
Publication Dates Covered: 1800s - present Paid for by K-State Libraries
Contains citations and abstracts of the world’s literature in psychology, behavioral sciences, and related subjects. It includes citations to journal articles from more than 1,900 journal titles, technical reports, and dissertations of psychological relevance from more than 50 countries. Also includes books and book chapters.